Pretty Paper Dolls with the Cricut

One of the things I love about my Cricut machines are all the fun projects my kids and I can make together. Last summer, my girls and I were thinking of things they could take with them on a LONG road trip in the car. We decided to create magnetic paper dolls using the Once Upon a Princess cartridge.

I used the magnetic disks by Basic Grey as the means for attaching the clothes to the dolls. One doll had the + side of the magnet and then all of her clothes were the – side. The other doll was the opposite. That way my daughters knew which clothes belonged to which doll and they wouldn’t argue over which dress belonged to who. :)

We had so much fun sifting through my patterned paper and cardstock scraps to find different combinations for each outfit.

We dressed some of the clothes up with stick-on gems, . . .

. . . my Cuttlebug Machine and Swiss Dots embossing folder, buttons, and pearls! We even added a bit of vellum to one of the skirts.

My girls have had so much fun with these sets. They also like to take them to church to play with while listening to the speakers in Sacrament meeting. The magnets are perfect, because they are QUIET. :) I have tried to use velcro on projects like this in the past, but we could never take them to church with us, because they were just too darn loud. Hehehe!

Another great adhesive option to use with projects like this are the Scotch Reusable Tabs for Lightweight Mounting. They are clear adhesive squares that do not tear paper and can be reattached over and over again. You can even trim the squares into smaller pieces. When the stickiness starts to wear off, you can rinse them off, let them airdry, and they will be good as new!

If you have a little girl, this might make a really fun gift to surprise her with for Valentine’s Day morning. :) I think she would love it and I promise you will have a blast creating this project!

Have a great weekend!

Jana

3 thoughts on “Pretty Paper Dolls with the Cricut

Leave a Reply

