Lazy Blogger = 3 in 1

How about a 3 in 1 post? I’ve been totally distracted this week . . . which means I have been a lazy blogger. I think I’ve just been distracted with all I need to get done within the next several days before my kids are home for the summer. Are you experiencing that, too? So here are three pages I’ve had posted recently at my usual haunts (My Mind’s Eye and Noel Mignon).

MONUMENT VALLEY

I created this one for the latest sketch challenge on the My Mind’s Eye blog. Come play along if you’d like!

Last year we took a road trip through the four corners region. One of our stops was beautiful Monument Valley. I do not have a panoramic setting on my camera, so I tried to capture the beautiful vista from our hotel room by taking three shots in a row. The sketch by Anam this month was PERFECT for scrapping my photo experiment. I left the rest of the page quite simple, without a lot of embellishments. I think because the desert is so simple. It just didn’t feel right to have lots of “fluff” on this page, ya know?

I used the Indie Chic Citron collection and added in a sheet of polka dot patterned paper from the Lost & Found Two Breeze collection. I handcut along one of the chevron designs in the Citron collection to use as a decorative border and layered it on top of the tone-on-tone green patterned paper.

I left the rest of the page quite simple, without a lot of embellishments. I think because the desert is so simple. It just didn’t feel right to have lots of “fluff” on this page, ya know? I added the green pearls (12 Days of Christmas collection) randomly on top of some of the polka dots for some dimension.

.

CARDBOARD HOUSES

This next one uses a sketch (#143) from the Got Sketch blog. The Noel Mignon design team played along. You can, too, for your chance to win a $20 gift card to Noel Mignon.com. But hurry, the deadline ends Sunday, May 27th, 2012.

I used the Noel Mignon May 2012 Jack & Jill kit (sorry, sold out) for my page. I wanted to use the die cut house accent from the kit with these pictures of my kids building cardboard box houses in our basement last summer. The pictures are dark and not all that interesting, so I love that the bright colors from the kit add a bit of “life” to this page. I initially had tried to follow the sketch more closely with smaller photos, but because they were so dark, you just couldn’t really tell what they were at the smaller size. I decided to stretch the sketch across my page and make the photos larger.

I think I used almost all of the border stickers from the kit on this page! LOL! I had fun mixing them and layering them together. They were the perfect way to define each “section” of the design.

.

EASTER BAGS

And then finally, I have one more page created with the Noel Mignon April 2012 Primrose Lane kit (sorry, sold out). This is my 7th page with this kit! And I actually still have enough product for one more page! It feels so good to be able to get that much mileage out of a kit. :D

For this page, I had a LOT of photos that I wanted to use. I was toying with the idea of creating a two-pager, but decided to utilize the free photo templates from Scrapbooks Etc. Magazine instead (I’m still sooooo sad they are closing. :( ). I love that I can use the templates to arrange my photos together without looking too chaotic. I would never have the patience to figure this out on my own. LOL!

I again used the border stickers from the kit to add a bit of interest around the edges of my photo square. I also added one in the corner as a single pennant hanging down.

The torn fabric strip is from my stash and was the perfect touch to add some dimension to the photo grouping. I also added a few Crate Paper Neighborhood Phrase stickers to the photos.

.

Thank you for joining me for a three-in-one post today. I’m off to pick up my Kindergartener and get ready for a 3rd grade Marionette Performance. I can’t wait!

See you again soon!

Leave a Reply

