Back-to-School Projects

I have a couple of back-to-school projects to share with you today. Remember the schoolhouses that I made for my kids’ teachers? I filled them with chocolate chip cookies and a customized bottle of hand sanitizer. They were so easy and so much fun to put together!

The apple is actually floating inside the bottle, and then the teachers’ name was applied to the front with yellow vinyl. I cut the apple on my Cricut Expression machine using the Create a Critter cartridge. I cut two apples for each bottle, one regular and then one mirror imaged. I applied the mirrow image to the back of the first apple because the artwork is going to be viewed from both sides.

Next, I placed the vinyl apple inside a 4.5″ x 6.5″ YourStory laminating pouch and ran it through my YourStory Laminating and Bookbinding machine (you can fit two apples in each pouch). I trimmed the lamination down to the size of the bottle with the apple centered in the middle, rolled it up and stuck it inside the bottle of hand sanitizer. (You will need to create your icon with vinyl or text-weight paper so that it is flexible enough to roll up. Cardstock is too thick.) I then used the pump to unroll the laminated apple inside the bottle and position it in place. Add the teacher’s name to the front of the bottle (I used the free digital cartridge Cricut Craft Room Basics), tie a ribbon and add a button to the top and you have a cute, easy gift for your child’s teacher!

Heck! You could even make these for co-workers for Christmas or to gussy up your guest bathroom. :D FUN! I seriously can’t wait to make more of these! Maybe I should create a “Hand Santizer of the Month Club” for my children’s teachers and send them a new bottle each month. LOL!

Next, I have a scrapbook page that I created for the My Mind’s Eye Blog. For this page I used the super cute Six by Six Two “School Daze” paper pad with a few sheets of On the Bright Side paper.

I love how the new 6 x 6 paper pads come with a sheet of coordinating icons that you can cut out and use on your projects.

I created the title on my Silhouette Cameo machine using artwork I found on the Silhouette site. I cut the title out on four different colors of cardstock, cut them apart and then layered them together on the black base.

I just LOVE this time of year. I think I’m going to head off to the school supply sales and see what deals I can score before everything is gone. :)

Happy Scrapping!

4 thoughts on “Back-to-School Projects

  1. Those hand sanitizers are so much fun–I never would have thought of putting the image inside the bottle, but it looks really cool. I love your layout too! :)

Leave a Reply

