Leading the Eye with Clusters

Hi, Friends! My assignment on the My Mind’s Eye blog this week was to showcase the gorgeous layered stickers and decorative brads that accompanies almost every single My Mind’s Eye collection. I LOVE those things and have no trouble piling them on my pages. Hehe! One of my favorite ways to use them is by creating clusters. On the following layout, I use the clusters to lead the viewer’s eye around the page.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Boy1e

SUPPLIES: Collectable Remarkable Collection: “Beautiful” Delightful Paper, “Authentic” Genuine Paper, 6 x 6 Paper Pad, “Handsome” Title Card, Authentic Journal Card, Layered Stickers, Decorative Brads, Decorative Buttons, Decorative Stickers, Label Stickers, Enamel Dots; Collectable Unforgettable Collection: “Today” Decorative Stamps; Other: Cardstock, Circle Punch, Brown Distressing Ink, Black Stamping Ink, White Spray Ink, Black Journaling Pen, Scissors, Trimmer, Adhesives

First of all, this was my first time playing with the NEW Collectable collections that My Mind’s Eye just released at Winter 2013 CHA. I’m in LOOOOVE! These papers are amazing! This page features the Remarkable color range with stamps from Unforgettable. I knew I was only going to use one photo on this page, so I decided to have a little fun with the 6×6 paper pad and create a funky background for my photo to rest on.

I cut an 8.5″ x 10″ rectangle of the Genuine paper (woodgrain slats) as the base and then randomly cut the 6×6 papers into different squares and rectangles. I even chopped off the corner of a few of the pieces for more fun. Next, it was time to add the other page elements.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Boy2e

I knew that I wanted my title to be towards the top. I used the Happy Days layered sticker and Handsome title card together and then surrounded it with decorative brads and a chip sticker from the decorative button pack.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Boy4e

The point of the Handsome card naturally pointed the eye downwards. I placed the journaling card to the left of my photos. I used more decorative brads, a decorative button, decorative stickers and enamel dots at the bottom of the journal card. The arrows are perfect for leading your eye on over to the photos.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Boy3e

Next, I used another cluster in the upper right corner of the photos to circle the eye back up to the top of the page. The arrow stamps pointing back in towards the center of the layout also help the eye to stay on the page subject. I repeated the same stamp by the title cluster for repetition. A few splashes of white spray ink and enamel dots are just a fun, casual finishing touch.

Thanks for stopping in to say “hi” to me today! Enjoy the rest of your week!

JanaBold

Leave a Reply

