I’m the Lucky One

I really do feel like the lucky one. I love my family so much and this St. Patrick’s Day I am doing a lot of reflecting about how lucky I feel to have these 5 people in my life. :D I won’t get too sappy on ya, but I just want the world to know that I LOVE my family! :D

Today I have a St. Patrick’s Day layout going up on the My Mind’s Eye Blog. My kids totally get into St. Patrick’s Day … they get into every holiday, actually. Don’t you love that about kids? Every day is a reason to celebrate, and holidays are even that much more special! :D Here are my kidlets all decked out for St. Patty’s Day last year. It was a Saturday, so they wouldn’t be at school with friends and the threat of getting pinched … yet they STILL wanted to dress up in their green and asked me to spray their hair green with Halloween hair paint. They looked so funny with their sickly green hair, kind of like they had been swimming all summer without baths. LOL!

I’M THE LUCKY ONE

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_LuckyOne1

I used the My Mind’s Eye Collectable Memorable collection. Aren’t the colors perfectly sweet? Playing with it has definitely given me a case of Spring Fever! I love how MME does softer color palettes. Soft and Spring-y, yet not washed out and pale. This girl needs COLOR! Hehehe!

I began this page by figuring out how I wanted to place my pics. Sometimes I will print my pics out in random sizes (by changing the reduction percentage) and just force myself to try a new size. For these I set my pics to print out as 3.5″ x 5″ at 80%. They came out as 2.75″ x 4″. I grouped the girls together on the bottom, and then paired my son up with a journaling card on the top row.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_LuckyOne2

I wanted green on this page (of course!) for St. Patrick’s Day, so that’s why I chose the tweed looking green pattern in the background. But my kids green hair next to that green paper was looking a little seasick … so I chose to mat the photos on complimentary papers. Pink for the girls, and tan for the boy. :) The striped paper ties all of the colors together (Thank you MME wonderful designers for doing the hard work for me! you make picking paper so easy! ;)  ).

The title and shamrocks were created with my Silhouette Cameo machine. The title is a welded phrase from the Silhouette store (by Samantha Walker Designs). I cut it out in three colors: hot pink for a shadow, green for the base, and then a lighter green. I used scissors to snip out the word “Lucky” from the lighter green, embossed it with my Swiss Dots embossing folder and my Cuttlebug machine, and then adhered it to the other green layer. A few butterflies (with enamel dot bodies) and a brad make it a little more fun!

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_LuckyOne3

My grid design filled up most of the page, but I HAD to have some Shamrocks on there! :D I cut them out with my machine, embossed them, and then accented them with My Mind’s Eye goodies (label stickers, chipboard, decorative brads, chip buttons, and a bit of twine). I used to spend HOURS looking for a four-leaf clover during recess when I was a little girl. My friend found one once … but I never did. Awww, well. Maybe some day! Hehe! In the meantime, I will just make my own with lots of cute, scrappy details! :)

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! And that you get to spend it with the people that make you feel blessed and “lucky” for having them in your life!

Thanks for coming by! See you again soon!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “I’m the Lucky One

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for
    bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

