Happy Halloween!

I hope you are having fun today and getting a good chuckle from the cute costumes that are out there. 🙂 My kids are off from school today, so Friday was our busy day with Halloween class parties, etc.  I snapped a few shots of the kids in their costumes before heading out the door to the Halloween school carnival on Friday night and thought I would share them here so that Gramma, Grampa, and Aunts and Uncles who live far away can see them. 🙂

Jensyn loves the Japanese culture and has been planning to go as a Japanese girl for a long time. She saved up her money and bought this beautiful Kimono to wear.

Owen has been begging to go as something “scary” for YEARS. I don’t really like the scary part of Halloween, but this year, we gave in a bit. As long as he doesn’t have blood and guts hanging out, I guess I’m good. Can you tell he is digging his costume? He refused to smile. “Mom, the Grim Reaper does NOT smile.” Yeah. You’re probably right.

Maryn and Camryn always have a tough time deciding what to be for Halloween. I mean, with all of the Princess choices out there, how can a little girl possibly choose? They change their minds 20,098,798 times and mom gets very frustrated. Hehehe! We found these Medieval Princess dresses at TJ Maxx this year and the minute they saw the hoop skirts they locked in their decision. Phew!

.

Carving pumpkins at our house can be serious business. The kids really put a lot of thought into planning out their scary pumpkin faces. I scrapped this page of the kids carving their pumpkins from last year using the My Mind’s Eye Mischievous collection and the Cricut Chic & Scary Seasonal cartridge.

I welded the Cursive 101 letters together on my Gypsy to create the word “Carving” as part of my title. The “Pumpkins” word art comes from the Chic & Scary cartridge.

Cricut Machines Used:Cricut Expression, Gypsy (use Gypsy to weld the cursive letters)
Cricut Cartridges Used:  Cursive 101 (“Carving”), Chic & Scary Seasonal (Title Phrase, Bats, Pumpkins)
Other Supplies: My Mind’s Eye Mischievous collection, My Mind’s Eye Lush 2 Orange Gem Stickers, Gray cardstock

.

The minute I saw these DARLING Halloween Witch Shoes by Melissa Haas on the Cricut Circle, I knew I had to make them for my friends and neighbors. (Thanks for sharing your idea, Melissa! You ROCK!) I LOVE that she thought to cut the princess shoe in black paper and use it as a witches shoe! Couldn’t you see these as Leprechaun shoes at St. Patrick’s Day or as party favors at a Bridal Shower?! So fun!

The shoes were created using the Princess Party Cartridge and the fit to page feature. The flowers (4″ <Daisy1>, 2″ <Mum2>) and leaves (1″) were made with the Flower Shoppe Cartridge, and the buckles are the slide cut (1.75″)from the Fabulous Finds Cartridge. I used Pretzel Treat Bags by Darice to create the witches stockings with the Mint Oreo Cookies.

.

I whipped up a few cards using the 6X6 paper pad, chipboard stickers, and buttons from last year’s Cosmo Cricket Halloween collection called “Matilda”. I had this collection in my “Giveaway Bin” but I’m so happy that I decided to hang onto it a bit longer and utilize it this year! I still love those darling patterns and icons! And it’s a great feeling to do a little “Use-What-You-Have-Scrapbooking”. I was trying my hardest not to shop for any new Halloween papers this year because I already own so many. But I admit it I’m a sucker for Halloween and still did my fair share of shopping this year. *batting eyelashes* (What about you? Do you have a holiday/occasion/season that you just can’t seem to resist when it comes to shopping for supplies?)

The ric rac circle stamp is by Pink Persimmon Stamps, and the sentiment stamps are from We R Memory Keepers.

.

“Best Witches” for a Happy Halloween! Thanks for flying by!

Jana

5 thoughts on “Happy Halloween!

  1. Great costumes! Love how you did Owen’s makeup!!! Your camera takes GORGEOUS photos!!!! And as always, I love your scrappy page and cards! AND the shoes are AWESOME!!! I just ordered that cartridge so I can make myself a pair! Happy Halloween my friend!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Michele! 😉 Oh, gosh, I have so much to learn about this new camera, but I’m having fun with it so far! It feels good to have something to challenge me a bit and “grow into.” Should be fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

