12 Days of Christmas and a Country Christmas Tree

If you are anything like me this week, you are in the midst of the Christmas rush working on all of the little details of the upcoming holiday. It’s so much fun, but I will admit I still have so much to do and have a moment here-and-there where I feel overwhelmed and Bah Humbuggish. Today I’m feeling a little better. There is a powder-sugar-coating of snow outside and that gets me in the holiday spirit. 🙂 How about you? How are your Christmas plans coming together?

I wanted to share with you my latest project using the Noel Mignon Mistletoe & Holly kit (just ONE left!). Starting today, I decided to do the “12 Days of Christmas” for my kids. I wanted to do something special for them this year, so I thought it might be fun to leave 12 little trinkets and treats for them on the days leading up to Christmas. I pulled out the My Mind’s Eye 12 Days of Christmas papers from the kit and created these cute doorhangers with a pocket for each of my kids. Each day I will add something to the pocket with a number label and a little love note. 🙂 Should be fun! I think this would also be a great way to present a little gift to a neighbor or co-worker . . . or even surprise your child’s teacher.

I used my Cricut Mini Electronic Cutting Machine and the Art Philosophy cartridge to create the doorhanger base. I cut the shape out of cardstock and then again out of patterned paper so I could decorate each of the panels. The extra layer of paper adds strength to the doorhanger so that it won’t tear if I place something heavier in the pocket. I also used the Cricut Font & Basic Shapes digital cartridge and Cricut Craft Roomto cut the labels. If you don’t own a Cricut, I included a couple of templates that I found on the web on my Noel Mignon postthat you could use to create the doorhanger base. CLICK HERE to find them in my post on the Noel Mignon Blog. Or if you own a Cricut machine, DOWNLOAD THE CRICUT CRAFT ROOM CUT FILE HERE or the GYPSY FILE HERE for this project.

The cream layer of the label shape was embossed using my Cuttlebug machineand the Swiss Dots embossing folder. Next, I used the Crate Paper letter stickers from the Noel Mignon Mistletoe & Holly kitto add my children’s names to each pocket. Embellishing them was easy! I used the My Mind’s Eye 12 Days of Christmas die cut border, layered stickers, trims, and rhinestones from the kit.

Finally, I added green ric rac felt trim and the Pebbles Inc. wood buttons from the kit to add a bit of fun to the top of the doorhanger. These came together relatively quickly and will look so cute on my children’s doorknobs! Here is what they look like with the first treat tucked inside. 🙂 Eeek! I’m so excited to surprise them. I’ll let you know how it goes. 😉

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Yesterday, I also had a post on the My Mind’s Eye blog for the Holiday Hoopla event they are having over there. Each of the designers are taking turns showing a holiday decor item we created. I used the NEW Kraft Fun Day Happy Days collection to create a country-inspired mini Christmas Tree for my scraproom. This was so much fun to put together! Isn’t this collection PERFECT for gingerbread men and other gingerbread cookie shapes?! LOVE IT!

I used my Cricut Mini Machine and Cricut Craft Room to cut out the ornament shapes from the Gingerbread and Just Because Cards cartridges. Embellishing each shape was easy and fun! I used the Happy Days Twine to create the hanging loops for each ornament. Then I used the Happy Days buttons, rhinestones, and wooden tags to add even more pizazz. 🙂

The garland looks hard, but is actually a premade Happy Days Circle Garland. Just open up the package and drape your tree. Easy! I tell ya. I’ve handmade these garlands on my sewing machine in the past, and they take FOREVAH! Plus, there is no way my fingers could fit those tiny, cute circles into my sewing machine without getting injured. LOL! I was so happy it was already done for me! It’s just TOO CUTE to boot!

To finish my cute little Christmas tree, I tied a few lengths of Stella & Rose Gertie trims around the pot and added a Happy Days Chipboard Element to adorn the knot. The tree topper is simply a couple of chipboard stars layered together with a scalloped circle Happy Days Chipboard Element decorated with a button, trim, and rhinestones. Waalah! My tree came together in just over an hour from start-t0-finish and adds that perfect amount of Christmas cheer to my office. Wouldn’t this be fun sitting on an office desk or teacher’s desk, too?!

Thanks for stopping by today and letting me share my latest projects with you!

Have a great week!

Jana

2 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas and a Country Christmas Tree

Leave a Reply

