A Valentine Page with Noel Mignon Charm School Kit

For Valentine’s Day, my daughter’s Kindergarten class learned all about the way a post office works. They practiced learning their addresses by creating their own mailboxes with their house number on it, and then learned how to address an envelope with that house number, stamp, sort, cancel, and deliver the valentines to each “mailbox.” Camryn had such a great time learning . . . I think her class’ favorite part of the lesson was stamping and cancelling the valentines. It was funny to see each envelope stamped a gazillion times on the outside so that each student had the opportunity to experience the postal process. 🙂

I love that Noel Mignon kits come with more than one set of alphabets in each kit. I love mixing them for a more interesting title. This time around, I also added a die cut word using my Cricut Expression 2 machine. The word “Love” is from the Victorian Romance cartridge. I also added an image of a postmark from the Creative Memories Traveler cartridge to go behind my title and emphasize the theme of this page.

I also cut out a spot for my journaling using my Cricut and the From the Kitchen cartridge. Next I added all kinds of borders, stickers, and tags from the Noel Mignon Charm School Kit. So many fun goodies in there!

Initially, my design was “floating” in the middle of the page. At the last second, I decided to add a strip of patterned paper underneath everything to “anchor” it down visually. Something I find fun to do is trying out the different options to see how ONE pattern can change the entire feeling of a page. I decided to go with a red strip, to emphasize the Valentine colors of red/pink (to go along with my topic), but another choice I almost went with was the other side of the red paper, with it’s printed Kraft design. It had a softer more monochromatic feeling. Take a look!

Which one do you like better? 🙂

See you again soon!

Jana

9 thoughts on “A Valentine Page with Noel Mignon Charm School Kit

  1. Jana.
    I love all your pages. For me on this one I like the kafty side of the paper. I feel it brings more focus to the photos. Both spreads are beautiful. Thanks for sharing your talent.

    Like

  2. Awww! See! That’s how I was feeling about it, too! I just couldn’t decide! Hehehe! Thanks for your insight! 🙂 Sometimes I stare at something for so long, I just can’t make a decision. LOL!

    Like

  3. Your emails are the ones I always open first when sitting down at my computer each day. They brighten my day so much! Thank you for sending them to me. I love your work! I like the kraft side better as it softens the layout a little more. I’d love to have my daughter (17), back in kindergarten again.

    Like

  4. Jana, I love both LOs. So many beautiful elements. I guess I’d have to say that the Kraft with the hearts horizontal strip works better for me. I think the red takes the attention away from your sweet pictures. Just my humble opinion. TFS!

    Like

Leave a Reply

