Easter Outtakes

Each year we have a family get together at our house to have an Easter egg hunt for all of the kids. Each family brings eggs to hide and then depending on the weather we either hide them in the basement, or outside in the front yard . . . that is, if the ground isn’t too gushy from the Spring run-off. 🙂 Last year, we were able to have it outside and it was so much fun! Especially for me . . . someone who would much rather take pictures of cute kids finding eggs in the sunlight than in a dark basement. ( It makes for much better photos to scrapbook later on. LOL!)

After finding the eggs, we had the kids pose together on the porch for a few photos. It’s so fun to see them act goofy together and their personalities and relationships really come out of the woodwork. Even though we never get a “good” picture of having them all look at the camera at the same time, I don’t mind, because we are able to capture another side of their cute characters.

A lot of times I think of myself as a multi-personality scrapper. LOL! One minute I’m in the mood to keep things clean and simple. Another time I’m in the mood to make something cute-sy. Another time, elegant. This time, I was in the mood to layer and play. I used the NEW My Mind’s Eye Follow Your Heart “Be Happy” collection by Rhonna Farrer. I love the soft colors. They remind me of the delicate blossoms that burst out on the trees this time of year. I changed my photos to black and white, simply because there were too many colors going on in the photos from everyone’s outfits.

I think I used almost everything made in this collection . . . patterned paper, chipboard elements, decorative brads, trims (twine), transparencies, 6″ x 6″ paper pads, and stamps. I had a blast exploring each one! I even used a few label stickers from the new Miss Caroline collection, too! The letter stickers are by Prima.

I couldn’t resist cutting out the polaroid frames from one of the patterned paper sheets . . . and decided to create a little Easter basket vignette with springtime grass and Easter eggs.

I mostly used the 6″ x 6″ papers inside the polaroid frames. I used to think that the 6 x 6 pads were just for cardmakers, but I will admit, I LOVE using them with my Cricut cuts and for layering. It’s so nice to have all the designs I love in a smaller scale for such purposes!

The Easter grass was created with a border punch by EK Success. The Easter eggs were made with an old Paper Shapers punch (EK Success) I have had forever . The Easter basket is a cut I found on the Doodlecharms cartridge, and then cut with my Cricut Expression machine. I finished off the polaroid frames with a bit of twine, word stickers (Miss Caroline collection), transparencies, chipboard element, and a few decorative brads (gotta love that butterfly! (I would LOVE an entire package of those!)

Scrapping this page made me giddy that another Easter egg hunt photo-opportunity is right around the corner! I need to get busy on Easter projects!

Happy Spring to You!

Jana

5 thoughts on “Easter Outtakes

  1. I just have to say that I ALWAYS LOVE everything about your layouts!!!! I love your multi-personality scrapbooking style! I would have to say that I am the same way! Love the subtly of this layout and the soft colors! Would you ever consider doing a blog post explaining how you choose papers when putting together a layout?! I’d love to know! 😉 Have a fabulous day!
    craftin-on-my-door.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

