Two Baby Ducklings

Our house sits between a water reservoir and a creek and each spring we have lots of critters come through looking for a drink of water. Most of the time, we see tons of deer, lots of birds, and several snakes (Ew!), but once a year we will have a cute little duck family stick around for a few days. Last year, unfortunately, two baby ducklings were separated from their mother and they were wandering aimlessly around the yard. My kids were soooo worried that the cats in the neighborhood would get to them, and so we decided to take them in for a few days and watch out for them.

We were thinking about keeping them for pets, but everyone I talked to said that they poop everywhere and that they are quite mean when they get older. We thought of calling the golf courses and aviaries around us but the local farm supply center said that no one would want to introduce wild ducks in with their own birds because of potential disease contamination. The lady also told me that now that the ducks had been touched by human hands, that they would never be accepted back into the wild and we might as well just let them go and let them fend for themselves. I felt terrible. I had no idea that by taking care of them, we were signing their death certificate. We sadly decided to let them go.

A few days later, we were surprised to find out that our neighbors across the creek had found them and DID decide to keep them as pets. YAY! They had found a home! My kids were able to go say “hello” to them any time they wanted.

The colors of the Noel Mignon March Homespun Kit were perfect for scrapping these photos. I used the October Afternoon Wheat Field Spray Mist from the kit to add some color to the white cardstock background before building my patterned paper layers and photos on top of it. The patchwork paper is from the Studio Calico Memoir collection and the mini star paper is by My Mind’s Eye (Follow Your Heart – Be Amazing collection). I used chipboard letters from the Noel Mignon January kit along with the Echo Park mini letter stickers from the Homespun kit to create the title. I accented the title with flag shaped stickers and brads by Studio Calico, Echo Park Paper and My Mind’s Eye. The yellow gems are also by My Mind’s Eye.

I used a journaling card from the kit to add the story to the page and then used paper scraps from the kit to create the duck accent with my Cricut Expression machine and the Nate’s ABC’s cartridge. There are so many cute images on that cartridge, and the font is a great basic font that I turn to again and again. I added a gray pearl from my stash for the duck’s eye.

Scrapping these photos got me so excited for the warmer days ahead! I love it when the kids are able to be out and about studying and exploring nature. Ahhhh! The easy days of Summer!

See you next time!

Jana

5 thoughts on “Two Baby Ducklings

  1. Oh I know how you feel! I’m so glad you found them a home! My DH stopped traffic to let a mommy duck and her babies cross the street. Someone behind him wasn’t as patient and went around him. Thar person hit the mommy and kept on going 😦 My DH came home with SIX baby ducks for me to take care of! I already have a dog, five cats and two bunnies (that he brought home)! So, I took care of them the best I could and DH just wanted them to be free in our yard but I could not watch them struggle to survive … So, I found a Sanctuary about an hour away and brought them there. They sure were adorable! Thank you for inspiring me to get those pix scrapped!

    Like

  2. This is so darn cute!!! I love the little duck and pond you cut. Cute photos, as always. And, yes, that kit is perfect for those photos. We have 5 man made ponds in our development. We get to watch the ducks and geese families all spring and summer. It is fun to watch the little goslings grow up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

