My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic Citron Collection

Hi Everyone! I had the opportunity to play with the new My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic Citron collection to create some projects for the My Mind’s Eye blog. Here is what I made.

The first paper that popped out to me was the one with the large floral coming in off of one corner. It felt very tropical to me and I knew it would be a great starting point for this page of my husband and I relaxing on the beach on our anniversary trip this past January.

The next paper I reached for was the wavy blue paper . . . kind of reminds you of ocean waves, right?! 🙂 I layered this paper together with a few others, along with the natural colored trim, and then arranged my photos on top of these layered strips.

Next, I pulled in a few die cut frame pieces and the journal tag and found them spots within my design. The aqua frame is actually from an older My Mind’s Eye collection, the Sophie collection. I cut out the center and used it to frame my title. That is one thing I love about My Mind’s Eye . . . the colorstories in each of their collections cross-pollinate so well together! I know I can always hang onto my unused page elements, and use them down the road with future collections . . . Nothing like getting bang for your buck! Right?! Love that!

I wanted to carry the tropical feeling of the flowers around my page, so I grabbed a few of the floral stickers and tucked them behind my photos. Next, I added in some natural elements, like the wood buttons, wood phrase, and twine . . . these took me right back to that wooden cabana we spent the day in. I had those awesome bamboo looking letter stickers just waiting for me in my stash. They are from the K & Company Handmade collection that was put out about 12 to 18 months ago. I love how they just seal the feel of this page. 🙂

The next thing I created with this collection was a card. I chose to use the “Watch You Grow” chipboard phrase from the Layered chipboard elements and used the phrase as the starting point to my design. I used the 6 x 6 mini papers to handcut out some uneven flower shapes. I layered them together with a few of the buttons from the Citron collection and then cut out leaves from a mini paper to add to the flower stems.

The grass was made with my Martha Stewart Crafts fringe scissors (seriously brilliant tool . . . why hasn’t anyone come up with this tool before now?!) After cutting the fringe, I went back in with my small detail scissors and snipped the blades of “grass” into different lengths for variety. The background was dry embossed with a NEW cloud embossing folder from the Skyward Embossing Folders set and my Cuttlebug machine. (This set also has a SUPER CUTE star background, hot air balloons, and old-fashioned airplanes patterns that I can’t wait to try out.) I sanded the embossed areas a bit to reveal the white core of the patterned papers.

The last thing I made with this collection was a cute milk carton container. I’m thinking this will make the perfect gift box to hold some treats in for my husband for Father’s Day.

I cut the milk carton shape out using my Cricut Expression machine and the Tags Bags Boxes & More 2 cartridge. The great thing about this cartridge is that it has a scoring feature! I simply change out the housing to the scoring tip, select the score lines and press cut. Then I cut the outline of the milk carton shape with the cutting blade. When I remove the cut from my mat, all I need to do is fold and adhere. Yes! That is rockin’ awesome! Saves me a bunch of time!

I wrapped the carton with a band of contrasting patterned paper from the Indie Chic Citron collection. Next, I added one of the dimensional stickers to the front of the box to serve as a focal point. The sticker comes as a diamond shape. I wanted the orientation of the sticker to be a square, so I carefully peeled it apart, matted the layers with 6 x 6 papers from the same collection, and then adhered everything back together so that it was now a square sticker, instead of a diamond.

The sides felt a little blank to me, so I used a star punch and added a few “windows” to the patterned paper strip. To close the box, I used a length of twine adorned with one of the chipboard slider shapes. Works like a charm!

Well, that’s it for today! But I have also been playing with the NEW My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic Nutmeg collection. I will share those projects later this week, so I hope to see you again soon!

Happy Spring!

2 thoughts on “My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic Citron Collection

  1. Great layout ! just curious, when did you go in Jan and what ship were you on ? Because I went to Labadee in Jan, and we also rented a Cabana !

    Like

Leave a Reply

