You Make Me Smile

I feel so grateful to be the mother to four amazing kids. I love spending time with them, and try to capture our everyday moments together through my scrapbooking. It doesn’t matter if the only pictures I capture of us being together are just a few casual snapshots caught with my cell phone, I want them to know that they make me smile and that they have enriched my life beyond what I ever expected. This page is one of those moments! Just me and my kids out having ice cream after a trip to the dentist. (Yep! Ice cream after the dentist . . . a little counter-productive, but hey! You gotta live a little sometimes.)

I used my Cricut Imagine Machine and the Imagine Hopscotch cartridge to print off almost all of the patterned papers. I didn’t have any bright blue cardstock in my stash to go with the papers, so I printed that off, too! (LOVE that!) The banner shapes, clouds and “Smile” letters are all handcut from the Imagine papers. I used my Cuttlebug machine and the Swiss Dots embossing folder to add texture to a few of the clouds.

The journal blocks and title are from the Creative Memories This & That cartridge. I was initially going to use the entire phrase from the This & That cartridge, but decided at the last minute to handcut out the letters from the Imagine Hopscotch paper for the word “smile” to add a bit more color and tie into the colors of the handcut banner piece at the top of the page. The background of the title block is embossed with the floral folder included with the Cuttlebug Machine.

The hearts are from the Create a Critter cartridge, and I couldn’t help but incorporate the darling mother & daughter nesting dolls from the Simply Charmed cartridge. I’ve been wanting to use those cuts for a long time and this was the perfect opportunity! I embellished the doll cuts with Pewter pearls for eyes, and tiny button brads for cheeks. I also embossed the bottom of each doll with the Cuttlebug A2 Border Frills set.

Cricut Machines Used: Cricut Expression Electronic Cutting Machine, Cricut Craft Room, Cricut Imagine Machine, Cuttlebug, Gypsy Handheld Design Device
Cricut Cartridges Used: Imagine Hopscotch (patterned papers), Creative Memories This & That (journal block, title), Create a Critter (hearts), Simply Charmed (nesting dolls)
Cuttlebug Embossing Folders Used: Swiss Dots, Flower Folder (included with Cuttlebug Machine), Frills Borders
Other Supplies: Cardstock (green, white, yellow, tan), Patterned Paper (Imagine Hopscotch Cartridge, American Crafts – pink swirl, October Afternoon – green/cream floral), Twine (Stampin’ Up), Brads (Making Memories), Pearls (KaiserCraft), Buttons (Americna Crafts), Foam Squares, Adhesives

.

CRICUT CUTS:

Use the Cricut Imagine Machine and the Imagine Hopscotch cartridge to print patterned papers

  • Yellow/white floral background

  • Banner paper

  • Cloud paper

  • Large multi-colored alphabet paper

  • Striped paper

  • Blue cardstock

Use the Creative Memories This & That Cartridge to cut the following

  • 2.25″ Icon Feature <SpcShp-s> with gray cardstock

  • 3.35″ Monogram Feature <Purse> (use Gypsy or Cricut Craft Room to hide inner line) with green cardstock

  • 3.35″ Monogram Feature <Purse> (use Gypsy or Cricut Craft Room to hide outer line) with white cardstock

Use the Simply Charmed Cartridge to cut the following

  • 4″ <NstDoll1> and all layers with blue, yellow, tan, gray, and pink cardstock

  • 4″ <NstDoll2> and all layers with pink/yellow/green/tan/gray cardstock and red swirl patterned paper

Use the Create a Critter Cartridge to cut the following

  • Two 2.25″ Real Dial Size, Phrase Feature <Balloon3> in red swirl patterned paper and gray cardstock

  • 2.25″ Real Dial Size, Phrase Feature <Balloon3> (use Gypsy or Cricut Craft Room to hide inner line) with white cardstock

Thanks for letting me share!

6 thoughts on “You Make Me Smile

  1. I would have never thought to use those cuts for that kind of layout but I can see now how it works. Thanks for sharing your creativity! I’ve learned so much from watching your blog.

  2. These russian dolls are too cute!

    Also wanted to tell you, on my google reader (a rss reader), your blog doesn’t have a title. It’s just “(title unknown)”. You should check your blog settings and make sure your blog has a name.

Leave a Reply

