Memorial Day

For as long as I can remember, my mom and dad have been taking us to the cemetery each year on Memorial Day to pay our respects to our  relatives & ancestors. We visit 4 to 5 different cemeteries across  the state.
As we travel on the 6 hour journey, they tell us stories  about each person and teach us about our lineage. Gramma has an intense love for our country and our founding fathers. She teaches us about  being patriotic and Grampa tells us stories about serving in the army.
As we drive from place to place we love to look out our car  windows and count how many American flags we see. It is now a tradition  that they carry on with my children and their cousins. My kids love to  bring flowers for each gravesite. They each bring their watering cans  and give all of the flowers a drink. It’s a great day to be together as a family.
The colors of the My Mind’s Eye  Indie Chic Saffron collection reminded me of the flowers on Memorial Day. There are lots of  handcut & die cut elements on this layout. First, I anchored my  photos along a handcut chevron border (“Free Spirit” Chevron Paper). I  also added handcut zigzag borders (“Girl” Geometric Paper)  to each side  of the gray patterned paper. Next, I added two handcut floral ornaments  from the “Create” Ornament Paper to decorate opposite corners of the  layout. Along with the chevron border, this helps draw your eye across  the page.
Finally, I created my own flower and butterfly embellishments  with my Cricut Expression machine using the 6 x 6 paper pad and  “Dreams” Buttons. The flowers were created using the Forever Young cartridge and the leaves are from the Flower Shoppe cartridge. The butterflies were cut from the Disney Hannah Montana Cartridge. The title was created using the Designer’s Calendar cartridge. I cut the words out from black cardstock, cut the words apart so that I could space them the way that I wanted to and then I added black Yudu glitter to them for a little sparkle and shine.

Supplies:

My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic Saffron Collection: Silk patterned paper, Geometric patterned paper, Daisy patterned paper, Chevron patterned paper, Ornament patterned paper, 6×6 paper pad, brads, buttons, journal card,l ayered stickers

My Mind’s Eye Indie Chic Ginger Collection: Stamps

My Mind’s Eye Lush Collection:Houndstooth patterned paper

Other Supplies: Cardstock, Cricut Expression Machine and cartridges, needle and floss, paper piercer, adhesive, pen, glitter, ink, scissors, trimmer

Thanks for coming by today!

One thought on “Memorial Day

  1. This is stunning. I love that your Memorial Day layout is about spending time remembering your family and sharing your history. The colors are unique for a Memorial Day page, very cool!

    Like

Leave a Reply

