Mixing Things Up on a Boy Page

I was working on an assignment for My Mind’s Eye a few weeks ago and my page morphed into something completely different. Ha! I was trying to do a monochromatic page. But I just love COLOR too much! I couldn’t help but add in a few puches of dark grey and red . . . and so today, instead of a monochromatic page, I have a masculine page that mixes two different My Mind’s Eye collections AND has a mixture of old and new supplies. (Love that I used up some of my stash on this one!)

SKATE

Can you spot the two My Mind’s Eye collections I mixed together? The background paper, blue diamond paper, and yellow paper are from the Indie Chic Nutmeg collection. The graph paper, woodgrain paper, multi-colored text paper, journal spot, decorative star brad, and label sticker are from the Miss Caroline Dilly Dally collection. That is one thing I LOVE about My Mind’s Eye . . . their collections intermingle so beautifully!

Owen has been into skateboarding a lot lately. He took his board with us on our recent camping road trip and had a blast trying out all of his “moves” in the different campgrounds. 🙂

The title was created using my Cricut Expression machine and the Dude! cartridge. I wish I had more room to add some of the cool skateboarding figures contained on this cartridge . . . I’ll have to keep them in mind for a future page of Owen. I also cut the red stars on my Cricut using the Plantin SchoolBook cartridge. This cartridge comes with the Cricut Expression machine, but you can also purchase the Digital Cartridge version for use in Cricut Craft Room if you would like.

I am becoming addicted to Ali Edwards stamps lately. I added a few of them to the journal card here. These ones are from the Simply You set.

So what are the old products on my page? The blue felt stars are by ProvoCraft and have been in my stash forevah! The package said these were made in 2006, but I’m happy to give them a little love! The layers and stitching on the felt still make me swoon. And I love the softness a little bit of felt can add to a page.

My other old product is the dark red chipboard accent manufactured by Making Memories. There is a cute story behind this embellishment. At school my kids teachers’ usually have a classroom store that the kids can shop at with tickets or class dollars that they earn for good behavior. My son spotted these scrapbook stickers in the class, saved up his tickets and bought them for me. 😀 How sweet is that? The great thing is that they are boy-themed, so I can add them onto pages about him and remember his act of kindness for me at the same time. Awwww, makes a momma’s heart swell. Love that boy! 😀

Well, that is all for me today! I hope you are having a great day! See you again soon!

3 thoughts on “Mixing Things Up on a Boy Page

  1. Thanks for the boy page! I have been buying way too much girly product and I only have boys! Great layout! I’m inspired:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

