Buffalo

Last summer, we went on a road trip to see the Grand Canyon. We stayed at Jacob’s Lake near the North Rim. It was BEAUTIFUL! I never expected that we would be in a wooded area full of pine trees and mountain meadows . . . for some reason, I pictured it dry and arid. Anyway . . . on the drive over to the Grand Canyon from Jacob’s Lake we stumbled upon a herd of Buffalo. They were right next to the road! Literally, four feet away from us. It was soooo cool! Of course, I snapped a bazillion photos and had to scrapbook a couple of them. 🙂 Here is the resulting page.

BUFFALO

I thought that the American Crafts Campy Trails collection would be perfect for this page. I began the page by adhering my photos to the orange strip of paper and then adding the handcut border of pennant flags underneath. Next, I knew that I wanted to find a buffalo cut from my Cricut cartridges. My plan for adding a Cricut cut buffalo to this page was to create a visual triangle with the buffalo pictures on my page.  This one is from the Destinations cartridge. I added him to an oval cut from the Cricut Cake Basics cartridge and added a few border strips of grass cut from the Plantin Schoolbook cartridge to give him something to “eat”. Hehe! The trees were a sticker from the Campy Trails collection, that I matted with dark brown cardstock. If you don’t have a similar sticker, you could easily create your own trees with your Cricut. I also embossed the cream oval with my Cuttlebug machine and Swiss Dots embossing folder for a little more fun. Finally, I added a bit
of twine and an orange button to the buffalo’s neck.

Next, I added a title to the top of the page. When I am working on rustic or masculine pages, I especially like to pull images from the Fabulous Finds cartridge. This time I cut out an extra large bookplate to serve as the home for my title. This time I embossed the cream background with the Woodgrain embossing folder. I added a few eyelets  to the holes before adding some interlocked lengths of twine. Finally, I added a dimensional sticker from the Campy Trails collection and my title using the font on the Quarter Note cartridge. I welded the letters together and then cut it three times. Once on brown woodgrain patterned paper, once on dark brown cardstock (to serve as an offset shadow), and a third time in yellow woodgrain patterned
paper. For the yellow woodgrain layer, I used my Gypsy Design Device to hide the openings in the letters so that the color would show through the brown woodgrain layer. This is a fun way to add a bit of color to your titles!

Thanks for taking a look at my outdoors-inspired scrapbook page! I hope you take a few days this summer to get out and enjoy nature’s bounty.

Cricut Machines Used: Cricut Create Personal Electronic Cutter, Cuttlebug Machine, Gypsy Design Device, Cricut Craft Room
Cricut Cartridges Used: Destinations, Fabulous Finds – Digital, Cake Basics – Digital, Plantin Schoolbook – Digital, Quarter Note
Cuttlebug Embossing Folder Used: Swiss Dots, Woodgrain
Other Supplies: Cardstock (brown, cream), Patterned Papers/Stickers (American Crafts Campy Trails collection), Eyelets, Eyelet Setter (Cropadile by We R Memory Keepers), Twine, Buttons, Needle & Floss, Brown distressing ink, Adhesives

One thought on “Buffalo

  1. A-MAZAING photos and layout Jana! I have so many elk pictures from our Colorado vacation. I even have some of this American Crafts collection (and the Campin Critters cart).. maybe scraplifting this one. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

