Yikes!

Has it really been a month since I last posted here?! Wow. I didn’t mean to ditch ya … Honestly, I have just had a lot on my mind lately. Fall is a time I tend step back and reevaluate things in my life. I usually do a lot of cleaning and set new goals for myself. It’s a pondering time for me. 🙂 I think I just needed to take a break and not be “on” for awhile. Ya know? Are you ever like that?

In addition to my fall-ness, I watched my four-year-old niece all last week while my sister was in the hospital for brain surgery. My sister is now home from the hospital and staying with my mom for a bit while she continues to recover. Even though I felt comforted that my sister would be alright through the surgery, I still really worried about her and with her. I just love her so much. It’s really hard to see your loved ones in such a vulnerable way. I pray for her every day that she will heal quickly and that this surgery was the answer to the extreme headaches she has been patiently putting up with the past several years. I am so lucky to have such a wonderful sister and I just want the best for her.

Thanks for understanding and for putting up with my absence … I’ll work on getting things caught up around her over the next week or so. How about I start with a page I created for the BasicGrey blog not too long ago?

It was my turn to create a page with “vintage” BasicGrey products. This was an easy and delightful assignment for me, because I tend to hoard every single thing that BasicGrey makes! LOL! I chose to work with the super cute Oliver collection and create the following page about my son’s summer Scout Camp experience.

I love these colors and patterns for scrapping masculine photos. I wanted my photo to have a photo corner, so I made my own by trimming out a portion of a design from a frame sticker on the Element Stickers sheet included with the collection.

One thing my son enjoyed trying this year at scout camp was archery. I tried to mimic his archery experience as a design element on this page by using the “bullseye” concentric circles sticker along with several arrow stickers from the sticker sheet.

I am not a huge journaler on my pages, but I do like to include a few tidbits. Journaling blocks are my friend! They are the perfect size for me to add a few sentences about my page topic. In this case, I had more to say, so I stacked a couple of journaling spots together. It doesn’t matter that they don’t match … it just matters that I was able to record the memory that I wanted to. 🙂

I used a mixture of letter stickers and a die cut machine to create my title. “Scout Camp” is two colors of letter stickers layered on top of each other to create a shadow effect. The word “adventure” is a cut I found in the Silhouette online store.

Thanks again for coming by. I’ll try not to wait another month before I post again. 😉

Take care!

8 thoughts on “Yikes!

  1. Prayers for your sister’s complete recovery! Thanks for sharing your work – it’s beautiful and always gets me excited to scrapbook. Don’t worry one little bit about not posting each day – I am grateful for whatever you can do!

    Like

  2. Prayers for your sister and your entire family as they help her heal. I also pray this is a successful solution for her! You are totally fine–we ALL need a break from the routine sometime. Happy to have another beautiful layout to be inspired by though! Thanks, Jana!

    Like

  3. Prayers and good thoughts for your sister! I am sure having you keep her child during her surgery was a comfort in itself!

    Taking a break is a good thing– no worries! Your project is fantastic and a little different from the usual thing that comes to mind when I think of you so your time off has had a creative effect! I love the page and the journaling too!

    Like

  4. Jana-First of all, prayers for your sister and for all of her caregivers and people that love her. Prayers for a speedy recovery.
    As always, beautiful layout! You are the best.

    Like

  5. Please don’t fret about your “absence”, everyone needs and/or is entitled to take a break once in a while ! Prayers for your sister and a speedy full recovery ! Great layout ! I love to take a peek at all your layouts, you are so talented, thanks for sharing !

    Like

Leave a Reply

