October ScrapKit Studio Kit: HALLOWEEN!

I was so honored when Melinda Wharton from ScrapKit Studio asked me if I would be willing to play with her October ScrapKit Studio Mini Album Kit. ScrapKit Studio is a monthly mini album kit. Melinda’s kits are not your average scrapbook supply kit. Her kits are pre-cut, pre-designed chipboard mini albums, complete with all the supplies you need to make the album as it is shown in the included instructions. Or … if you prefer, use the supplies to create your own design like I did!

I absolutely LOVED creating with Melinda’s kit because all of the stress was taken out of the design process. I didn’t have to worry if I had enough coordinating supplies to fill the album, and I didn’t have to worry about how to start. I had a set of instructions that I could follow exactly, OR I could branch out and play a bit. It was all up to me. I used Melinda’s designs as a starting point and then used the supplies to add my own twist. I did add a few sheets of cardstock to the kit (most of it came from pieces I had waiting to be used in my scrap bin). Everything else is included in the kit. Here is how it turned out!

On the cover, I cut out a large circle for a moon (stitched on my sewing machine), and a strip of handcut kraft cardstock along the bottom. I also decided to use a different pattern on the front. I simply found a pattern I liked on one of the pre-cut pages and flipped it over, adhering it so that the holes still matched up.

The acrylic sheets included with the kit are as wide as the cover. I decided to trim them down a bit so that they were the same size as the inside pages (minus the tab sticking out). I added the sheets in between each set of chipboard pages, and had fun adding a few design elements to them for interest. Here I added the chipboard pennant pieces.

On this page, I cut a strip of orange paper to anchor a couple of the October Afternoon Miscellany cards included in the kit. I added the”Boo” flair and a chipboard button to accent the bottom of the cards.

I filled my album with pictures of my kids dressed in their costumes. Here they are all together on the first page. On the following pages I placed close up photos of each child on their own.

When putting the album together, I decided to switch up the order of the background patterns a bit from the original version. I adore this collection from October Afternoon! The teal blue  and emerald green are fun additions to the traditional Halloween color scheme of orange and black.

Don’t you just love the vintage style of the die cuts?!

Even though I had decorative elements on each of the acrylic sheets I also included them underneath on the actual page, so that both pages felt complete and decorated.

There are so many fun bits in this kit! Stickers, chipboard elements, labels, die cuts, buttons, twine and more! I had fun combining them together in different ways on each page.

I placed the pocket on the back page and tucked in a few Miscellany cards. My kids always receive darling Halloween cards from their grandparents each year and will be adding them to this pocket for safe-keeping.

A big THANK YOU to Melinda for letting me play along with her kit this month! I hope you have enjoyed seeing my version of the October “Beware” Mini Album Kit. If you would like to read more about ScrapKit Studio or purchase a “Beware” mini album kit of your own, CLICK HERE to visit the ScrapKit Studio website. Or pop on over to the ScrapKit Studio Blog for all the latest news.

Happy Scrapping!

6 thoughts on “October ScrapKit Studio Kit: HALLOWEEN!

Leave a Reply

