Leaves are Falling All Around

Last week I posted a couple of Fall and Halloween pages on the My Mind’s Eye blog. Usually, when I create an autumn page, I reach for the traditional colors of red, orange, and gold … but this time around I went for a different color scheme, using the The Sweetest Thing Bluebell collection. Here is how my page came together.

I thumbed through the gorgeous papers in this collection and decided to build my page background from the neutral/soft yellow papers. I thought these would work the best with my photos because the yellow in the paper would highlight the yellow leaves in the photos (and detract from the pink, furry vest my daughter is wearing … not exactly fall attire … well, actually it is for a five year old girl, right?! 🙂 LOL!).

Next, I chose to pull out a few page accents with the colors blue. I also added a sprinkling of chipboard buttons in a few places. You KNOW buttons are my favorite things by now, right?! And they are perfect for conveying that homespun, cozy, fall feeling on a scrapbook page. 😀

Finally, I added hand-stitching to my title block by using my paper piercer to poke holes around the edge.

Next, is a page of all four of my kiddos together on Halloween last year.

Aren’t the Halloween Lost and Found paper by My Mind’s Eye gorgeous?!! You should see all that glitter in person. Glitter and Halloween definitely go hand in hand. I added a strip of lime green polka dot paper (from the My Mind’s Eye Winter Wonderland collection) for an unexpected pop of color.

I used the cute spider web stamp from the Halloween Lost and Found clear stamp set to add a spooky corner to my page.

Polka dots make a scary skull a “little” more friendly, don’t you think? 🙂

So do you have any fun Halloween parties or activities planned for the weekend? I think we will be carving some pumpkins and adorning our porch with some fun decorations to get ready for the BIG night!

Have a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “Leaves are Falling All Around

  1. Jana……..I love all of you work. You are suck a great inspiration when I get stuck, I always turn to your blog for an idea or FIVE!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

