My Mind’s Eye Pinterest Lift

I love when I get the assignment to do a Pinterest Lift for the My Mind’s Eye blog. It always helps me to step out of the box and be inspired to try something new. For my page this time, I chose to lift a page by talented scrapper, Tonya Dirk. The first thing that caught my eye about her page was the pennant banner strung across the top flanked by two flowers. I also really loved that she used a 6 x 6 paper to anchor two smaller photos. Here is Tonya’s page and below that, is the page I created.

TONYA’S PAGE

92323861082385779_cg85igD2_c

I used the Winter Wonderland collection for my page. First, I was inspired by the barnwood pattern paper that Tonya used for her background. To get a similar feeling on my page I layered together pattern paper strips in blue tones.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Remember1

For the banner, I used trees from the Winter Wonderland clear stamp set. I stamped them in blue, red and green, and then cut them out, omitting the trunk of the tree and the star on top. I flipped them over and then “strung” them together using the super-cute tri-color Winter Wonderland twine, and then added a handmade poinsettia to either side. The poinsettia flowers were created using the Cuttlebug Poinsettia Quilling Kit. The word going across the top of the banner was cut using the Silhouette Cameo from word art created by Kerri Bradford.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Remember2

Next, I added elements cut from the Tags Paper and chipboard elements sheet. I added a stamped snowman to one of the labels and stamped snowflakes/star to the journal spot. A few brads, buttons and stickers round everything out. 🙂

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_Remember3

Thank you to Tonya for such a beautiful inspiration page to work from. Be sure to check out Tonya’s other beautiful work HERE.

………………………………………….

Over the weekend, I also create a bunch of Chewing Gum Countdown Calendars. I was looking for something that I could make the teen girls I teach at church and something that my teen daughter could give her friends for Christmas. I came across the Little Ho-ho-hooligans Candy Wrappers at Lettering Delights and thought they would be the perfect solution! I mean … when you are a teen, aren’t you carrying around gum all the time anyway so that your breath is fresh for flirting? Haha! Here is how they came out.

JanaEubank_ChristmasGum1

Love them! And pretty easy to do. I did have to create my own little number squares, but it didn’t take me too long. 🙂 For my gum packs, I used Spearmint Dentyne Ice. Each pack comes with 16 squares, so you will need three packs of gum to create two countdown calendars. The third pack is split to make 24 total pieces for each calendar. The file is a wrapper that fits perfectly around all three sections of gum. It creates a little booklet and then each “page” of gum slids out the top. They are really fun!

JanaEubank_ChristmasGum2

Thanks for coming by today. Have a great week!

JanaBold

2 thoughts on “My Mind’s Eye Pinterest Lift

Leave a Reply

