Love is in the Air!

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day and we have had our Valentine “factory” going in full swing this week. We just finished up the cards and box tonight. Guess what?! I only had ONE kid that needed to make a Valentine box this year. I was actually a little sad. Valentine boxes were always my favorite thing to make as a child and now as a crafty adult, they are an excuse for me to get creative and have fun with it. Do you get into the Valentine box making? I told my kids that when they grow up, I will be happy to make all their kids Valentine boxes for them … it’s just too much fun! 🙂

Blog1e

Here is what we made Maryn. I used a Circus tent box cut file from SVG Cuts (Summer Street Carnival). I used my Cuttlebug machine to emboss some of the layers with two folders, Seeing Spots and a folder from the Decorative Tile set. The flat at the top is premade, I just added a couple of punched hearts and rhinestones for fun. Next, I adhered the circus tent to a flat box created from a cut file available in the Silhouette store. The gate and animals were then adhered to the base around the tent.

Box1e

Box2e

The gate was created with two paper straws. I made the banner with my Cricut Expression machine. The pennants are from the Birthday Bash cartridge, and the letters are from the Carousel cartridge. I used Cricut Craft Room to hide the inner contour of the letters to make them easier to cut. They letters were adhered to the pennants with foam dots and then strung together on red wire.

Box3e

All of the cute animals are from the Cricut Birthday Bash cartridge. I used the Cuttlebug machine and the Swiss Dots embossing folder to add texture to some of the layers on the animals.

Box5e

For the juggler, I cut out two circles for each ball. I then glued them together with a piece of wire in between to make it appear as though the balls were really flying through the air. 🙂

Box6e

Box7e

I usually create a seasonal home decor piece or two to freshen up our decorations each year. This time I found an abandoned white frame in our closet and decided to make a dimensional art piece using the My Mind’s Eye Lost & Found 3 Ruby collection. Here is how it came together.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_ValentineFrame1

I cut the pieces out using my Silhouette Cameo machine. I folded each heart in half and then used my sewing machine to zig zag stitch down the center.  I added a pop dot in between each layer as spacers so that the heart wouldn’t fall flat.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_ValentineFrame2

As a finishing touch I adhered a few Enamel Dots to look like paint spatters.

Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you have a Happy Love Day!

JanaBold

5 thoughts on “Love is in the Air!

  1. Oh my goodness! You’re making me feel a little sheepish about the valentine’s day box with my daughter. Ours was nice, but yours is AMAZING. This one will have her teacher talking about it for years. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

