Teacher Appreciation Gift!

I’m up again on the My Mind’s Eye Blog today for National Teacher Day and I wanted to create something to give to my children’s teachers to show them how much we appreciate all their hard work throughout this past year. I’ve researched online and have asked several teacher friends what kinds of gifts they like to receive from their students and they always mention the same thing … GIFT CARDS! But giving a gift card can seem “last-minute” and impersonal. To avoid that stigma, I decided to dress up the gift card by packaging it in a fun way. I pulled out the My Mind’s Eye Boy Crazy collection and got to work!

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_SchoolBus1

I used my Silhouette Cameo and the Ice Cream Truck from this cut file set by SVGCuts to create a school bus gift box. I used the letter stickers from the My Mind’s Eye Find Your Wings and Fly collection to add the teacher’s name to the front of the bus and some words along the side. The characters from the Boy Crazy make cute passengers on the bus … and yes, I’m hoping that the teacher gets a chuckle out of me using an alien to represent the “kids.” Hehe!

The headlights were created with some glitter dome stickers I found at JoAnn’s awhile ago (Cloud 9). I used the Boy Crazy decorative buttons to accent the bus and create a flip out “stop sign” to keep the bus riders safe as they board and disembark for their stops. 🙂

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_SchoolBus2

The back of the bus box opens to reveal a library pocket containing the gift card and several handfuls of the delicious candy. The front of the pocket is decorated with an apple cut (Lettering Delights), a button and a bit of twine. I used my Cuttlebug Swiss Dots embossing folder to add some fun texture to the apple. Each candy gets some color with a strip of paper from the Boy Crazy 6 x 6 paper pad.

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_SchoolBus3

The other side of the bus is adorned with a mini banner (Boy Crazy decorative buttons). Enamel Dots from the same collection make perfect warning lights and wheel accents!

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_SchoolBus4

JanaEubank_MyMindsEye_SchoolBus5

Thanks for taking a peek at my project! See you again soon!

JanaBold

2 thoughts on “Teacher Appreciation Gift!

  1. This is such a fun way to give a gift card! I agree that giving a gift card seems so “easy” and yet gives the recipient so much choice and giving it a special form of transportation makes it more personal – you’ve definitely created the perfect way to do that! Every inch is so very thoughtful and fun! I wanna make one now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

