Scraptastic Club May Kit: Destination Unknown

The school year is winding down and this is the time each year I get the urge to work on the kids school scrapbooks a bit. Aside from our family chronological scrapbooks, I keep separate school albums for each child. In these albums I create pages for their first and last day school photos, record their likes and dislikes for the year, place any pages of school programs/field trips that take place for each child that year, and then I also place a page of them wearing their Halloween costume. This is why once in awhile you’ll see me scrap a few of these topics more than once … once for our family scrapbook and another time for each child’s school scrapbook.

The bright colors of the May Scraptastic Club “Destination Unknown” kit and Add-On are perfect for scrapping school memories and I decided to work on some pictures of Owen from a couple of years ago.

JanaEubank_Scraptastic_Noted1e

On this particluar year, the kids learned how to play the recorder. They had “Recorder Karate” where each time they passed off a song, they earned a “belt.” Owen was so proud that he made it all the way to black belt. 🙂

JanaEubank_Scraptastic_Noted2

I arranged my photos and then layered some 4″ x 6″ and 3″ x 4″ patterned paper squares behind them. The strip of navy script paper and the blue sequins actually come from the April “Awake My Soul” kit (I love when kit contents mix seamlessly with each other like that!). I used the star stamp from the May Destination Unknown stamps to accent the embellies in a few places, added some red buttons from my stash, and then stitched a red border around the edge of my page (the red was still in my machine from making Little Red Riding Hoods last week LOL!).

JanaEubank_Scraptastic_Noted3

I liked the journal card with the navy banner on it because it reminds me of Owen’s “black belt” he earned in Recorder Karate. 🙂

On this next page, I got in a playful mood and decided to do LOTS of layering. I printed out these headshots of my kids and their cousins (Maryn is missing because she was NOT in the mood to have her photo taken that day. LOL!) as small black and whites. I stacked them haphazardly together on a strip of red cardstock and then tied a length of string in between each row. Next, I layered several other strips of patterned paper in varying widths behind this one and adhered it to the page at a slight angle.

JanaEubank_ScraptasticClub_HappyFamily1e

The “Happy” letters were cut from a 3″ x 4″ Photo Freedom (Echo Park) card. I didn’t mind that the letters weren’t all the same size … I just nestled the word “family” in the space underneath. The gray letters come from the March 2013 “Everything I Am” kit and the sequins are again from the April 2013 “Awake My Soul” kit.

JanaEubank_ScraptasticClub_HappyFamily2

The Destination Unknown star stamp makes another appearance on this page along with more Lil’ Red Riding Hood stitching. 🙂 I handcut the flowers out from another Photo Freedom card and used it along with an exclusive Ormolu flair button to accent the tape cassette die cut.

JanaEubank_ScraptasticClub_HappyFamily3

Thanks for letting me share! Have a great weekend!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Scraptastic Club May Kit: Destination Unknown

  1. These are both so great, but that “happy to be family” layout has captivated me. Love the playful colors and arrangement of everything. The word happy in different sized letters actually is a really fun look. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

