Stash Busting: 2 Cool 4 School

Several weeks ago, I was cleaning out my scrapbook room and I was reminded of how many cute collections and scrapbook kits I have bought over the years, but have never taken the time to use. I’m pretty good at giving away scrapbook collections that I have used two or three times, but I was surprised at how many “older” collections I’ve never touched. And the thing is, even though they are considered “out of date” in the scrappy world, I STILL LIKE THEM, so I don’t want to get rid of them.

Right then and there, I decided that I would make a focused effort at least once a week to start USING my older stuff. I know, it’s SHOCKING! To actually USE what I already HAVE. LOL! It sounds silly, but sometimes I hesitate to grab those “older” items when I am working on a project for fear of not being “up-to-date”.  That’s just crazy! I would never scoff at a quilter for using “older” fabric … so why would I hold myself back when it comes to “older” supplies?! I’m throwing that feeling out the window, and you’ll start seeing me making a dent in those older supplies.  Woot! Woot! Here’s to USING what we HAVE! 🙂

This week’s layouts all use THIS Noel Mignon kit from last year (plus some letter stickers from my stash).

2 COOL FOR SCHOOL

JanaEubank_2Cool4School1

The background paper for this layout is an awesome, preprinted sheet from the Pink Paislee Portfolio collection. I created a base for the photos using papers from the Studio Calico Yearbook and Lawn Fawn Dewey Decimal collections and placed my title across the top of the page.

JanaEubank_2Cool4School2

I used scraps from my scrap bin to create the pie chart using my Silhouette Cameo machine. The title was cut out three times from kraft cardstock. I used one layer as a shadow, one layer for the numbers, and then for the final layer I snipped out the words “Cool” and “School” and embossed them with the Cuttlebug 6 x 12 Polka Dot folder. The cute, cassette tape die cut is by October Afternoon.

JanaEubank_2Cool4School3

I love the monochromatic feel of this page. It was a fun change from what I normally go for on a school-themed page!

I’ll be back tomorrow with another stash-buster using this same kit! Thanks for coming by!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Stash Busting: 2 Cool 4 School

  1. This is so adorable! I too feel like I have to have the latest and greatest stamps and paper, lol. What’s worse, is I go through my stash looking for something and decide I don’t like some of the paper now, lol. My tastes change. So that is my wake up call to use it or lose it, lol.

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who hates to part with older unused paper collections. I have too many to count, but I still love so many of them. Your layout turned out awesome! 🙂

    Like

  3. I love that you’re encouraging and showing how to use the products we already know and love (personally, when I do challenges I mentally go through my stash to think about what would work for my page – that’s one way I’m able to do stash-busting!) Your results are truly inspiring! It’s also so fun to see how you use your Silhouette to create customized elements! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

