Catching Up with a Few Pages

I’m sorry I’ve been missing in action for a few days. This past weekend my sweet Grampa had a stroke. At 90 years old, he’s not doing too well and it looks like he won’t be with us much longer. 😦 It breaks my heart, but I’m so grateful for the opportunity I’ve had to see him and be with him a few more times. Even though he can’t speak, I’ve been able to talk to him and he answers back with his eyes and a ever-so-slight squeeze of his hand. I know he understands us. I’m glad I could tell him how grateful I am for him in my life and what a wonderful grandfather he has been to me. He is as good as they get and I will miss him terribly. 🙂 He loved life and lived it to it’s fullest. He was the type of fellow to visit and talk to everyone he met and always had a funny song or story to share. … Sigh. …  Getting old stinks. 😦

BlogGrampa

My Grampa was the primary caretaker for my Gramma, which means we needed to get her placed in an assisted living home. She can’t be alone and it’s not good for her to be alone. My mom and her siblings found her a great place and the past few days my family and I have been painting and getting her room ready for her there. We moved her into the care center last night. It turned out really nice and I hope it will be a comforting place for her in the weeks to come as she transitions and adjusts to life without her sweetheart. 😦 She’s handling everything as well as she can, but it’s still really hard.

…………………………………

Thanks for listening to all of that … I did have several layouts to share with you throughout this week, I just didn’t have the chance to photograph them until this morning. So here we go!

I purchased the Noel Mignon October 2013 Union Square kit this month and it arrived last week. Holy cow! This is such a pretty kit! It’s sold out, but you can still pick up the Paper Only option HERE or the coordinating PL kit HERE. I couldn’t wait to dig into that baby and created three layouts right away. 🙂

FUN

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Fun1e

I love all the cute clothespins that coordinate with collections lately … but to be honest. I HATE the bulk they add to my pages. My solution? I just pry the clothespin apart and adhere the top half to my project using glue dots. There is still dimension, but it’s not as thick as it would have been if I had kept the clothespin intact. Here, I punched each photo with a 1/16″ hole punch, threaded a length of twine through and then added the clothespin halves to the top.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Fun2

The giant wood pieces from American Crafts in this kit are so cool! I used one for my title and then accented it with a few hand cut patterned paper leaves.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Fun3

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Fun4

.

JACOB LAKE

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_JacobLake1

I’m still working on our photos from our Grand Canyon trip a few years ago … the fall colors and patterns in this kit go so well with these pictures … Yay! The pictures were on the orange-y side, so I tried to calm them down a bit by backing them with the blue cardstock and patterned paper.

I used another large wood piece as a home for my title. Before adding the letters, I used the stamp and gold ink included in the kit to stamp a pattern onto the arrow. I then lightly outlined the edge with a brown fine-tipped journaling marker.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_JacobLake2

I added more stamping to the stitched die cut at the top of the page. The striped strip to the left of the photos is actually a part of the packaging from a Pink Paislee Luxe piece included in the kit. I thought the gold foil stripe on the top of the package was too cool not to use!

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_JacobLake3

I accented the journaling strips at the bottom with some more stamping … the ampersand outline stamp included in the kit.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_JacobLake4

.

PAYPHONE

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Payphone1

On that same trip to the Grand Canyon we not only saw lots of wildlife … but we also so a relic … the disappearing payphone. 🙂 I made my kiddos stand next to it for a picture. Who knows how much longer we’ll see these around? Am I right? I actually had to explain to my kids how you had to pay to make a call on a payphone. They thought that was so unfair! Hehe!

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Payphone2

The letter stamps are an old set by AdornIt that is no longer available … well, maybe they are “somewhere” on the web, but I know that they aren’t available on the AdornIt site any more. 😦 Sorry. I think they are pretty cool and still enjoy using them. 🙂

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Payphone3

At the bottom of the photo I used a strip of ombre patterned paper by My Mind’s Eye from the kit. I wanted to add a subtle texture to it, so I again pulled out the stamp and gold ink from the kit and added the chevron pattern to it. My stamping isn’t very consistent, but I still like the look of it.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_Payphone4

Underneath the stamped strip, I added one of the Jenni Bowlin gold rubon borders from the kit. I was a little too hasty in peeling it off from the backing sheet and lost a few of the chevrons. I decided to use it anyway … I actually like the random spaces. 🙂

.

Thanks for stopping by today. I’ll be back tomorrow with a BasicGrey R.S.V.P. page!

Take care!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Catching Up with a Few Pages

  1. So sorry to hear about your grandfather but I am sure you must have many special memories of him that you can share with others through scrapbooking.. Thank you so much for posting all your wonderful layouts that provide me with much needed inspiration. I don’t comment very often but am grateful just the same!

    Like

  2. Jana so sorry to hear about your Grandad, I went through a similar thing with my Grandmother 2 years ago she was 91 and had a heart attack and stroke, she could not speak. She was in Australia (where i’m from) and I”m in the U.S I would phone her every day, I miss her every day. I am sending you hugs. Lovely layouts too, sometimes scrapping can be the best therapy : )

    Like

  3. So sorry about your cherished Grampa. May you find peace looking at all the wonderful memories you have of him and creating lovely layouts about them. Thank you for sharing those layouts. I especially love what you did with the clothespins and twine on the second, and what a great idea to photograph your kids with a payphone ! I think I might to the same, to have a souvenir of another era one day…!

    Like

Leave a Reply

