Happy World Card Making Day!

World-Card-Making-Day

Join us on the BasicGrey blog today for card inspiration AND a giveaway every 30 minutes. What could be better than that?! Hope to see you there!

……………………..

Here is the card I created for the BasicGrey Word Card Making Day celebration.

JanaEubank_HappyHalloweenCard1e

Fall is my favorite season and Halloween is my favorite … so it should come as no surprise that the Persimmon line is my favorite right now! I wanted to combine all the warm colors and textures of autumn together on one card and this is what I came up with.

JanaEubank_HappyHalloweenCard3

I accordion-folded three strips of patterned paper to create three dimensional rows on my card. I wanted them to have a “mini blind” look about them, so I used a 1/16″ hole punch to punch holes in each of the folds and then threaded a length of embroidery floss through them using a needle. I tied each end of the thread in a double-knot to hold the folds in place. Next, I stacked the rows on top of each other and then added my design on top. I used die cuts + transparencies, stickers, and chipboard pieces, and a decorative brad … all from the Persimmon line.

JanaEubank_HappyHalloweenCard4

I wanted to mat the Happy Halloween tag with the scalloped circle chipboard piece. At this point I had quite a bit of pattern going on, so instead of leaving the chipboard piece as-is, I flipped it over, peeled off the release paper, and sprinkled the adhesive with navy glitter. The solid color and subtle sparkle were just what my card needed to balance everything out.

JanaEubank_HappyHalloweenCard2

Be sure to stop by the BasicGrey blog today for inspiration from the fabulous BasicGrey Design Team. You won’t be disappointed!

JanaBold

2 thoughts on “Happy World Card Making Day!

Leave a Reply

