Curly Girl Method

Happy New Year! I’m sorry I have been missing in action this past little while. I have been working on several CHA projects for BasicGrey and My Mind’s Eye and am just about finished. The new collections for both companies are simply amazing (be sure to stop by the My Mind’s Eye Blog for today’s post to see the first post about their new products … SWOON!) and I am just having too much fun playing with it all! I will share those layouts with you when I can, but I wanted to hop on and at least say hello. 🙂

“Hello!”

IMG_1078eBlog600

I usually share my scrappy work with you, but since I don’t have anything I’m able to put up just yet, I thought I would share something else with you. It’s random … and it’s not scrappy related … so feel free to skip this post if you want to. I promise, I won’t even know. 🙂

Most of you probably don’t know this, but I’m actually a Curly Girl. My hair has been naturally curly all my life. It’s been at different stages of “curliness” and I have never quite figured out how to deal with it, so I have always just blown it out straight. Last October, I decided to try a new stylist recommended by a friend. As this new gal cut my hair, I couldn’t help but admire her beautiful, curly hair. I told her that I would LOVE it if my curly hair looked like that. At that point, she introduced me to the “Curly Girl Method” of taking care of hair, loaned me a book about it, and said I should give it a try sometime.

images

Reading that book was like reading a hair bible that was created just for me. I finally understood my curly hair and why I had been so frustrated with it my entire life. I didn’t know how to take care of it. Since then, I follow the curly girl method and I have embraced my curls instead of trying to run away from them. And let me tell ya, we get along so much better now! Hehe! And … I’ve been so happy with it, that I have been telling all my curly friends about it. 🙂 I’m guessing some of you might be curly girls … so why not tell you about it, too?! If you’re a curly girl that is frustrated with your hair, you might want to give it a try.

Here are some links and some basic information about the Curly Girl Method that I found around the web. But I would definitely recommend reading the book, too. There is a lot of information out there and the book kind of gives you the “why” behind everything so you can discern what might work best for you. (Note: Some of these links talk about using a specific product. I’ve tried the book author’s products (which I liked), but I actually found that I prefer products that I found at Target:  Suave, Kinky Curly Curling Custard, etc. I just wanted you to know that you don’t have to have the book author’s products to get great results. 🙂  )

……………………………………………………………………………….

Before and After Page 1: http://www.flickr.com/photos/workmanpublishing/sets/72157625830179129/

Before and After Page 2 (be sure to click through the different types of curls): http://www.mydevacurl.com/curly_lifestyle/curly_hair_gallery

Washing Hair Video (from the book author): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDofglvTFx8
List of Drugstore Curly Girl Approved Products (ignore the Afro-Latina, Black Hair blog title … the products are the same for all hair types.) http://afrolatinaisbeautiful.blogspot.com/p/list-of-drugstore-curly-girl-approved.html
Styling Tips for Curly Hair: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d41W878YdHc
This girl does a great video on her hair care routine … her hair is quite curly (instead of loose curls or waves), but she has some really great tips.
Here is an older video by the same girl … some of the same tips … but it’s fun to see her hair longer. 🙂
……………………………………………………………………………….

Okay, off my curly-hair-soap-box. Hehe! Have fun! And I’ll be back with some scrappiness soon!

JanaBold

19 thoughts on “Curly Girl Method

  1. Jana I’m a curly girl and totally enjoyed your post .. will definitely give this a try. your CG hair looks fabulous. How long did it take you to start getting the results you wanted? g

    Like

    1. I noticed a difference from the very beginning. My curls were happy the minute I started treating them differently. The adjustment for me was just getting into the rhythm of a new hair care routine. That took me a couple of weeks, but now I feel like it is so much easier and I wouldn’t go back. 🙂

      Like

  2. Jana, I’m a curly girl, too, and I also enjoyed your post. My teenage daughter is also a curly girl and is super frustrated with her hair. She straightens it almost every day. I’m going to forward your links to her and buy her the book. Thanks for the tips! Oh, and I can’t wait to see your new projects!!

    Like

    1. Oh, good! I hope your daughter finds peace with her curls. In the book there are all kinds of stories from curly girls and as I read it I thought, “YES! That’s how I have been feeling!” The idea that resonated with me the most from the book was when she compared curly hair to fine cashmere wool. She talked about how we wouldn’t just plop that sweater in the washing machine along with our jeans and everything else. We take care of it differently so it will look its best. As Oprah would say, it was an A-ha! moment for me. Hee! Good luck!

      Like

  3. Happy New Year I think you look terrific! and happy! Thank you forsharing so much info with us, you are loved! Cheri a very blessed soul

    Like

  4. Love the curls Jana. I’m a curly girl too and live in a very dry climate. I recently had my hair done by a Ouidad stylist (another curly cut and styling method) and am so much happier with my curls. Finding the right cut, products and methods make all the difference in the world – and make you feel like a million bucks. Congrats on finding what works for you!

    Like

  5. Ok, girl I LOVE the curl. Mine being stick straight I’ve always been somewhat jealous of girls with curly hair. Glad you are embracing it! 🙂 Can’t wait to see your scrappy creations with the new lines.

    Like

    1. *Waving!* Hi Nicole! Thank you! And you know … we curly girls are always jealous of gals with straight hair. My daughters all got straight hair from their daddy, and I just marvel that they are able to just let it dry, without any major effort, and it looks perfect. How would that be?! Heee! Happy New Year to you!

      Like

    1. I hope she enjoys it, too! It’s always nice to hear that you are not alone in your hair woes. Hehe! We should love what God gave us, not loathe it. Good luck to her! and Happy New Year!

      Like

  6. You look 10 years younger! The day before I read your
    Email my sister who has not seen me for awhile reminded me that I was the only girl in our family who had curls like our mother. So when I saw your email I researched all the information and got the book. I tried it and have gone back to embrace my curls. The first day that I tried it only with what products I had on hand, I got complimented from a young man who I did not even know. Thanks so much for reminding me not to take my curls for granted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

