Playing with BasicGrey Vellum Tapes & a Fun New Freebie

I love magazines and have been sad to see a lot of them go away. I subscribe to Northridge Publishing, but haven’t felt drawn to any other magazines enough to sub to them. I used to really love getting Scrapbooks Etc. and was sad to see it go away. Yesterday, Scrapbook Generation released the first issue of their new Create Magazine. I have always been a huge fan of their sketch books, and I am a fan of many of their design team members, so I was excited to check it out. It is big and beautiful (it’s more like an idea book, than a magazine) … and FREE! I don’t work with them in any way … but I LOVED it, and if I love something, I want to share it with my blog readers. 🙂 To see the first issue. GO HERE to the Scrapbook Generation blog and click through the link they provide.

……..

On another note, I have a page up on the BasicGrey blog today featuring the RSVP vellum tapes. I love the vellum tapes that BasicGrey has been manufacturing with a lot of their collections lately. It’s like getting a sheet of several coordinating washi tape patterns. Most of the time, I use them to add a that little bit of color or that “little something” to finish off a corner of a design … but today, I decided to get colorful and combine them all together front-and-center as the main page element.

JanaEubank_BasicGrey_Hooray1INK

This page is a little different than the one you will see on the BasicGrey Blog, only because I decided after-the-fact to add a few droplets of spray mist. Other than that, it is the same.

SUPPLIES
BasicGrey RSVP Collection: Crepe Paper paper, Kaleidoscope paper, Sprinkles paper, Element Stickers, Jumbo Die Cut Numbers, Mixed Brads, Vellum Tape Stickers, Waterfall Theme Pack, Die Cuts and Transparencies, Basics Candy Buttons – Aqua & Pink, Spiral Journal

I kept the background a plain white cardstock and converted the photos to black and white, so that I could just have fun with all of the color in the products. This actually works out perfectly for our birthday photos. You know why? Well, I’ll let you in on a secret. Birthday photos are my least favorite to scrapbook. I enjoy seeing my kids get older each year, but we have a tradition to open the presents first thing in the morning, and well, I’m not very good at taking pictures in low light conditions (Note to self: practice taking pictures in low light settings this year) and I’m never happy with how they come out. Converting the photos to black and white helps to hide my less-than-stellar photography skills and just have fun using bright and colorful scrapbook products to get across that “party feel.” The RSVP collection was perfect for this!

I stacked all of the vellum tape strips on top of each other to the right of the photo grouping. I adore all of those colors and patterns. And I really like how they repeat the different colors in the “Hooray” transparency die cut.

JanaEubank_BasicGrey_Hooray2

For the journaling, I cut the bracket shape from one of the 4×6 cards included in the Waterfall pack.

JanaEubank_BasicGrey_Hooray3

At the top of the page, I tore out a page from the RSVP Spiral Journal. I cut it in half and layered the pieces on top of each other so that I could take advantage of the torn notebook edge and the decorative bracket edge. A couple of flags and enamel dots round out this area.

JanaEubank_BasicGrey_Hooray4

I’ve mentioned this before, but thought I would mention it again in case you are a new reader to my blog … to arrange my photos in the collage I used one of the FREE photo templates from the late Better Homes & Gardens Scrapbooks, Etc. magazine. You can find them here, along with instructions on how to use them. 🙂 I used the Square Template #105. I turned it on it’s side and cropped out the long rectangular photo. I love using templates! They are a great way to fit a lot of photos onto one layout.

I have more to share … but will try to spread it out over the next few days, so I don’t overwhelm you. 🙂

Thanks for reading, and thank you for your comments! They always brighten my day. I hope to see you again soon!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Playing with BasicGrey Vellum Tapes & a Fun New Freebie

  1. I was so happy to see that you have looked through the Create magazine. I was lucky enough to have 2 layouts selected to appear in it. (page 198 and 210) I love your style and I am happy to say that I have recreated many of your layouts, in fact you are the reason I make single page layouts now. Every time I see your husband on tv I turn to whoever I am with and say “His wife is SO TALENTED!” Thank you for the continuous inspiration you provide. Thanks again, Traci

    Like

  2. You are such an inspiration to me. I just love your style of scrapbooking. You are definitely my go to designer for inspiration. Thank you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

