Shake It Like a Polaroid Picture … and a Wedding Card

Happy Friday! I’m up on two blogs today with a couple of new projects. First, I have a wedding card over on the 3 Birds Design blog using their really fun Quilled Cardmaking kit and a wedding cut from the Creative Memories Cricut Cartridge called Divine Wedding. There’s something so soothing about making quilled flowers, and I love all of the die cut sentiments and pieces in this kit. It makes cardmaking quick and easy. Here’s a little peek of my card. See the full project along with all the details on the 3 Birds Design Blog.

WeddingCard_2014-02-21_JEubank-4-600

.

Next, I’m up on the Noel Mignon Blog today with another layout using the February 2014 Book of Love kit.

Growing up my mom painstakingly helped us create the most darling Valentine’s Day boxes to take to school. I have such fond memories of her creativity and ingenuity and feeling so happy that she would take the time to help me make something so special. I’ve tried to continue that same tradition with my kids. This year, I used SVG Cuts files to create Valentine boxes for my girls. Maryn requested a giant ice cream cone box (from the Ice Cream Birthday SVG Cuts collection), and Camryn wanted a frilly, pink castle (from the Bedtime Stories SVG Cuts collection). They turned out really cute! Here’s a snapshot I took of the girls last Friday with their boxes.

JanaEubank_ValentineBoxes

The reason I bring this up, is because my layout on the Noel Mignon blog feature the box that Maryn and I made for her last year using a circus tent cut file by SVG Cuts (from the Summer Street Carnival collection) and cute critters from the Birthday Bash Cricut cartridge. (Here’s a post about from last year.)

VALENTINE BOX

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_ValentineBox1

The papers from the kit that I used are mostly from the My Mind’s Eye Cupid’s Arrow collection. I love when a Valentine collection includes a little blue in it. It is such a nice compliment to red and pink and means I can also use them on more everyday types of projects. Even though this page is about Valentine’s Day, the design could easily be used for any occasion!

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_ValentineBox2

The Polaroid camera cut and Polaroid frame are by SVG Cuts. The camera is from the darling Bicycle Built for Two collection and the frame is actually a freebie that you can pick up for yourself RIGHT HERE. I used my Cuttlebug Swiss Dots embossing folder to give the white layer some fun texture, and then added a My Mind’s Eye enamel heart sticker, and red button tied with twine for a little dimension. I also added the title to the flash of the camera with the gray letter stickers included in the kit. Doesn’t it look cute against that amazing red foil chevron paper? It just makes me happy.

Inside the frame, I placed one of the Jillibean Soup 3×4 cut-apart cards from the kit. The bottom phrase on the 3×4 card was trimmed off and used to accent the row of small photos at the bottom of the page.

Bicycle Built for Two SVG Collection by SVG Cuts

bicycle-built-for-two-svg

I layered together the two chipboard hearts that came in the kit along with more My Mind’s Eye enamel stickers (arrows) and a Jillibean Soup word sticker. It was the perfect little accent for this corner of the page.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_ValentineBox3

Thanks for stopping by today! And here’s wishing you a wonderful weekend filled with fun and a little crafting!

See you next time!

JanaBold

5 thoughts on “Shake It Like a Polaroid Picture … and a Wedding Card

  1. Oh, these are AWESOME!! That wedding card is so gorgeous. Whomever the recipient is will love it!! Your V-day boxes are a-maz-ing!!! We were not asked to make boxes for the kids. They really don’t do that here. I used to do it many years ago… before the onset of die cutting machines with my oldest.. back in the mid 90’s. That was a different time for sure (and different school district). If I made one for Ben, it would have to be something Star Wars. LOL

    Like

  2. So wonderful. What a treasure for your children and they will remember these things forever. Well done mom! Does the ice cream box come that big in the file or do you have to do something to adjust it?

    Like

    1. Hi Debby,

      The ice cream box file is originally about 6″ tall when assembled. I placed all the pieces for the box on my mat at once, and then enlarged them as a group as big as I could go on my 12×12 mat. The largest piece was hanging off the edge of the mat, but because this particular piece was symettrical all the way around (the base of the cone), I could cut it multiple times, overlap the pieces and then assemble the box like I normally would. Once the pieces were enlarged, I cut each one out one at a time by copying/pasting to a new mat in the program (I hope I’m making sense here).It was really fun and I think it would be a fun way to give a larger gift to someone, too! 🙂 Hope that helps!

      Like

Leave a Reply

