Leaving Out the Orange

Happy weekend! I can’t believe Halloween is in just seven days. I can’t wait!

Even though we don’t get a lot of trick-or-treaters (we live on the end of a Dead End Street), I enjoy the magical feeling of Halloween. The older kids don’t collect candy anymore, but they always volunteer to take my youngest trick-or-treating. It’s an excuse to dress up and still enjoy being out with all of the ghosts and goblins. 🙂

Me? I stay home with a warm pot of soup answering the door and watching Halloween shows on T.V. It’s awesome!

Instead of using orange and black on these next two Halloween pages, I was inspired by my kids’ costumes in the photos and went with a red and black color scheme. Perfect for my little vampire and zombie, right?!

WICKEDLY CUTE

JanaEubank_WickedlyCute1a

For this page, I used another sketch by Laura Whitaker as inspiration. I tweaked it a bit to accommodate my larger photos. After putting it together, I realized that my grouping was too low on the page. (Please tell me I’m not the only one who does that. LOL!)

Instead of trying to move everything up, I added a strip of pattern along the top of the page. Then, to tie the strip and the grouping together, I stamped a spiderweb in the corner of the background paper.

I love it! Spiderwebs always add a little spookiness, don’t you think?

JanaEubank_WickedlyCute2 JanaEubank_WickedlyCute3

Supplies: Patterned Paper (My Mind’s Eye, Teresa Collins Designs), Spiderweb Stamp (Hero Arts), Lace Stamp (My Mind’s Eye), Journal Spot (Jenni Bowlin), Letter Stickers (Echo Park Paper, Authentique), Halloween Glitter Stickers (American Crafts), Black Gems (Darice), Twine, Black Mist (Heidi Swapp)

EEEK!

My son had a blast creating his zombie costume last year. He didn’t want to just tear holes in his old clothes. No! That would be too easy! He meticulously singed the edges of each of the tears with a lighter. His patience paid off. He looked great!

JanaEubank_Eek1

I’m not a fan of the gory part of Halloween. Infact, this is the first year that my son has dressed up as something “scary.” No worries, I kept it “cute” with this funny little die cut I created with my Silhouette Cameo with this shape.

I even added a feathery tuft of hair to the top. Hehe!

JanaEubank_Eek2

SUPPLIES: Patterned Paper (K&Company), Journal Spot (Anna Griffin), Tab Punch (Jenni Bowlin), Black Pearls (Recollections), Enamel Dots (My Mind’s Eye), Die Cutting Machines (Silhouette Cameo, Cricut Expression), Cricut Cartridge (Title: A Frightful Affair), Washi Tape, Ribbon, Feather Trim

Thanks for stopping by today! I hope you have something fun planned for the weekend!

JanaBold

2 thoughts on “Leaving Out the Orange

Leave a Reply

