Pocket Pages with Noel Mignon “Golden Delicious” Daily Diary Kit

Happy Sunday, Friends! I hope you are enjoying your weekend! It has been so beautiful here in Utah. I just love this time of year!

I am back designing with the Noel Mignon Design Team and I’m so happy about it! I have missed designing with Noel’s amazing kits.

My first post went up on the Noel Mignon Blog today. I got both of the kits for myself, and decided to start first with the Golden Delicious Daily Diary Kit. I don’t have as many fall pocket pages to catch up on, so I figured that when I was finished with the pages I wanted to make, I could take what was left and mix it in with the Classic kit when I go to make my pages.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN

Here is the first page I made, catching up on more Halloween from 2014.

JanaEubank_Halloween1

I had so much fun with the Simple Stories Pumpkin Spice included with this collection. I have a new addiction … the Simple Stories stick-on brads. I must have been living under a rock, because these little doo-dads are FABULOUS! I love how you can just stick ’em on, no poking holes. I had fun with them, obviously, because they are on almost every picture of the left side of the page. Ha!

JanaEubank_Halloween2Left

On the left page, I included 4 vertical 4×6″ photos. I trimmed each of them to 3″ wide and used the patterned side of the cards as photo mats. I love the cute mix of patterns in this collection!

JanaEubank_HappyHalloween5

The right side of the spread is mostly random photos. So I decided to have some fun decorating the 3×4 cards.

I created a little scene on the with a 2×2 card and die cuts on the green journal block, adding in a few enamel dots from my stash.

I typed my journaling on the yellow birdie card, including a phrase die cut and small sticker.

JanaEubank_Halloween3Right

But my favorite card that I made for this page was the Family/Home card. I built a stack of words with the letter stickers and brads, and filled in the spaces with the small icon stickers. I think it turned out adorable!

JanaEubank_HappyHalloween4

Next, up is another Halloween spread for my 2014 album.

FALL

JanaEubank_Carving1

We always seem to wait until the last minute to carve our pumpkins. Last year we actually carved them the Halloween morning! Yikes! Our kitchen is a bit dark, leaving a blue cast to the photos despite my attempts to correct it in the editing process.

I chose to use the cards with mostly orange and yellow. This really helped to warm those pictures up!

JanaEubank_Carving2Left

I used bits of stickers, die cuts and brads from the kit to give each card a little more detail. I also really love to use washi tape as a “pattern” and add strips of it to the bottom of my photos.

JanaEubank_Carving4

The right side of the page uses a vertically formatted page protector. All four of the 4×6 spots were filled with photos, so I decided to have some fun with the center strip of 3×4 cards.

JanaEubank_Carving3Right

I didn’t want the larger 4×6 photos to overpower the page, so I decided to make the bottom two 3×4 spots look like one large 4×6 card. I did this by using the 2×2 F-A-L-L letter squares to build a “title” card that has the same look of a 4×6 card.

JanaEubank_Carving5

In the past, I have always used my handwriting on my pocket page cards. But for my 2014 album I switched over to using a typewriter. There are a few reasons for this.

  1. I love the way it looks! It’s just so charming … mistakes and all. There is no “undo” button on a vintage typewriter. 😀
  2. I love the consistent look it gives the album overall. Pocket pages lean towards the chaotic-looking side with all of the different little cards butting up to each other. The type-written journaling ties them all together.
  3. It allows me to fit more of the story into a smaller space.
  4. It’s sentimental for me. 🙂

Janaeubank_Typewriter

You see, last year I inherited my late grandfather’s typewriter. He was a traveling salesman, but in his spare time he would draw pictures of horses and write poetry on this typewriter. I love that I am using a tool that my grandpa used. He used it to be creative with his poetry, and I’m using it to be creative with my memory-keeping. It’s so cool to feel connected that way! (THANK YOU to my mom and her siblings for allowing me this precious gift! I LOVE it! And will cherish it always!)

I just love old things. It even comes in this cool, worn-down case.

JanaEubank_Typewriter2

And a few more detail shots, just for fun.

JanaEubank_Typewriter3 JanaEubank_Typewriter4 JanaEubank_Typewriter5 JanaEubank_Typewriter6 JanaEubank_Typewriter7

Thanks so much for letting me share!

Have a beautiful day!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Pocket Pages with Noel Mignon “Golden Delicious” Daily Diary Kit

  1. Hi Jana, I have followed you for years and love your work!! I am always trying to “Janasize” my pages. It’s so nice to see you back!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

