Finding Inspiration: Using a Magazine Ad as Inspiration for a Page Design

I read somewhere once that the problem with being a creative person is that we can see the “potential” in everything. Most of the time it serves us very well, so you might be asking how that can be a problem?

Well, the problem arises when you are trying to clean out your house. It’s so hard to get rid of things! Haha! For example, I came across a stack of old magazines. I always enjoy looking at the colors and images of home decor magazines, but since these are from 2010, I figured it was probably time to let them go.

JanaEubank_MagInspiration

I then made the mistake of picking up the top one and flipping through the pages. I came across an ad for wheat thins that grabbed my attention right away. I knew it would make the perfect scrapbook page!

I printed out a series of square photos, took out my Noel Mignon Golden Delicious Classic Kit and set to work. Here is what I made.

AUTUMN AT OUR HOUSE

JanaEubank_AutumnHouse

I arranged the square photos down the left side of the page like the crackers in the ad. I then needed to figure out what I could sprinkle in between the photos to mimic the cheese curls.

Remember the floral paper from my kit sorting video? I did decide to cut out the leaves and use them tucked around the photos. It took awhile, but I really like how they look!

 

JanaEubank_AutumnHouse1

The strip along the bottom of the page was inspired by the row of photos in the ad. I placed my title and journaling in similar spots as the text of the ad.

In retrospect, I wish I would have taken time to create sentence strips instead of writing directly on the background paper. I was going for a subtle look, but when I erased the penciled journaling underneath, the ink on the paper lifted a bit and left a lighter area … not a look I was going for, unfortunately. Oh, well!

 

JanaEubank_AutumnHouse2

It’s hard to tell, but I used the leaf stencil from the kit to add a subtle pattern of leaves behind the photos, title, and journaling. You might be able to catch a glimpse of them here-and-there in these shots.

The “Autumn” word is a cut file from the Silhouette store. I combined it with the gold letter stickers from the kit and then used tiny letter tile stickers (Cosmo Cricket) for the word “at.”

 

JanaEubank_AutumnHouse3

SUPPLIES: Noel Mignon Nov. 2015 Golden Delicious Kit, Patterned Paper (Carta Bella, We R Memory Keepers), Letter Stickers (American Crafts, Cosmo Cricket), Label Cut Aparts/Wood Pieces(Evalicious), Border Sticker (October Afternoon), Lace Trim (Maya Road), Cork Stickers (Seven Paper), Enamel Dots (My Mind’s Eye), Stencil (Echo Park Paper), Silhouette Cameo Machine, adhesive, inks.

Hmmm. Maybe I can bear to part with that 2010 magazine now that I have made use of it one more time. … I better check to see if there are any other ads that could inspire me in there before I do. *giggle*

See you again soon!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Finding Inspiration: Using a Magazine Ad as Inspiration for a Page Design

Leave a Reply

