Noel Mignon: Christmas House

Happy Monday to you, my friends! This past weekend as we finished the final touches on our holiday decor, I noticed that I had an empty, lonely space on our family room end table. That was it! I had to make something to fill it up! Hehe!

CHRISTMAS HOUSE

I pulled out my Noel Mignon Mistletoe & Holly Classic kit and a few of my favorite cut files by SVG Cuts, and decided to create the little winter house from the Winter Chill set.

JanaEubank_ChristmasHouse1

It took me all afternoon, but it was so fun at the same time. Just listening to Christmas music and doing a little Christmas crafting!

The cut file didn’t include a separate roof for the little porch and I really wanted it to be dark green. I cut out several scalloped borders, using my Silhouette Cameo machine, and layered them one by one on the roof to create shingles. After they were in place, I carefully trimmed off the excess along the angled roof line. It turned out pretty good … better than I expected, actually!

JanaEubank_ChristmasHouse6

My favorite thing about this little house are the icicles and snow hanging from the roofline. Look! There’s even snow collecting on the window sills!

JanaEubank_ChristmasHouse3

I wanted to utilize the wonderful boxwood trim included in my Noel Mignon kit this month, so I decided to create little wreaths for the windows and door. I loved that I was easily able to make each wreath the exact size I needed.

I accented the wreath on the bay window with one of the gold chenille Shimelle bows from the kit. The wreath on the door is accented with a little enamel bow.

I can’t wait to add an electronic votive to this house and see what it looks like illuminated, with the light coming through the vellum windows.

JanaEubank_ChristmasHouse5

Finally, my house needed some landscaping. I handcut the snowy sidewalk from white cardstock and then used a cut file I found in the Silhouette Design store to create the 3d trees. It’s the perfect little snowy scene.

Visitors to my little house will be able to wipe their feet off on the chipboard doormat (Echo Park). 🙂

I love how my house came out! Infact, if I get time in the coming weeks, I would love to make the Mistletoe Manor house or the Silent Night church. Or maybe even a little village of houses from the Santa’s Village Set! Too many cute ideas out there!

JanaEubank_ChristmasHouse1

SUPPLIES: Noel Mignon Dec. 2015 Mistletoe & Holly Kit, Cardstock (Olive green, Dark green, Red, White), Patterned Paper (Echo Park Paper, Simple Stories), Vellum, Trim (Tim Holtz), Enamel bow (My Mind’s Eye), Chenille bow (Shimelle by American Crafts), Chipboard (Echo Park Paper), Electronic Cutting Machine (Silhouette Cameo), Cut Files (Winter Chill by SVG Cuts, Trees from Silhouette Design Store), Other: adhesive, brown ink

Are you doing any Christmas crafts this season? What are you planning on making?

JanaBold

4 thoughts on “Noel Mignon: Christmas House

Leave a Reply

