Noel Mignon: Snow Happy! & Stamp Giveaway!

I’m usually not a fan of winter, but this past week or so we have been having the most beautiful little snowstorms. You know the kind, with the fluffy white flakes that gently fall, making you feel like you are living in a snowglobe. It has been making me so happy!

It’s only fitting that I create a page about winter this week for the Noel Mignon blog! This week the theme for the design team is “Stamping Through the Snow.” We are showcasing ways to use the stamps and mists included with the January Sweet Charlotte kit (there are still a couple left in the shop, pick yours up HERE). Here is the direction I took with it!

HAPPINESS

I chose to work with these photos of my daughter playing in the snow. As I held them up to each of the papers in the kit, this ombre woodgrain paper stole my heart! I love the ethereal feel of it and the way it pick up on the pink in my daughter’s snowsuit!

JanaEubank_Happiness1

I started this page by creating large snowflakes for the background using the white washi tape included with the kit. For the medium and small snowflakes, I simply cut the tape in half length-wise. I left the ends of each snowflake poking up slightly so that they would have a bit of dimension.

I then sprinkled the Heidi Swapp Patina Color Shine and sequins from the kit around the snowflakes for an icy feel. (By the way, if you haven’t tried mists before, Heidi Swapp’s Color Shine are the way to go … they are my absolute FAVORITE!!!)

JanaEubank_Happiness2

The ombre color of the woodgrain paper inspired me to try something a little different on this page … I loved the way my photos were POPPING from the background, and so I didn’t want any elements I added to detract from that … that is when I decided to follow the colors of the background and place the brown cork letters on the brown woodgrain portion of the page, and the pink “favorite” transparency die cut on the pink portion of the page.

JanaEubank_Happiness3

The kraft tag with the medium pink accent “connects” the two colors together in the middle of the page, and  the neutral wood heart and light kraft die cut are perfect compliments to the mid-tones in the middle of the page.

The bits of aqua blue around the page help to support the winter theme of the page.

JanaEubank_Happiness4

Finally, I wanted to add some stamping to this page. I picked out the dashed line from the stamp set included with the kit… I’m pretty sure this stamp is meant to add journaling lines to the typewriter stamp, but I decided to use it as little groups of “stitched” lines. I added them in three places around the page to finish things off; at the bottom of the page, to the left of the journaling tag, and to the right of the title. It was the perfect little somethin’-somethin’! I love it!

JanaEubank_Happiness1

I hope I have inspired you to play with your mists and stamps this week! I love the artsy look they add to a page!

GIVEAWAY!!!

I have one of these stamp sets to giveaway! I already owned this stamp set when I received it with my kit, so I thought I would share the extra one with one of you … along with a few extra stamping goodies. (All are brand new, the Maggie Holmes one is just missing the packaging. 🙂 )

JanaEubank_JanuaryStampGiveaway

Be sure to leave a comment on this post by Tuesday, January 26th, 2015 (to keep mailing costs reasonable, US entrants only, please … thanks for understanding!). I will announce the winner of the stamps on Wednesday, January 27th here on my blog. Good luck, friends!

Much love!

JanaBold

 

36 thoughts on “Noel Mignon: Snow Happy! & Stamp Giveaway!

  1. Jana, you are so inspiring! I absolutely love the ombre woodgrain paper with your photos-perfect! Thank you for offering up some goodies!

    Like

  2. I love seeing your fun pages! I know you put so much thought into all the details. I would love to win these stamps. They’re so cute 🙂

    Like

  3. I would have never thought to use these colors for a winter page. Thanks for helping me think outside the box! (Loved that typewriter stamp; my 7 year old soon has never even seen a typewriter before!)

    Like

  4. So very cute. You can bet I will scrap lift this layout. I’m going on a 3 day scrapbook this weekend and need some new layouts. It’s at “It’s all about the scrapbook” in Dixon CA. It’s a wonderful store

    Like

  5. Beautiful layout!! Great color scheme and I love the way you use the washi tape on the background. I have some of Heidi’s Colorshine, but I would love to learn about more ways to use it. Thanks for sharing with us!!

    Like

  6. I just love your style! I have to thank Tracie Claiborne for helping me find you! I love Heidi’s Colorshine! I should use it more!! Those stamps are so cute!

    Like

  7. Awesome page – love the vellum snowflakes! I don’t have any of those stamps… so I’d be thrilled to win. Thank you so very much for your kindness in giving these away.

    Like

  8. We got almost two feet of snow this weekend! The perfect weekend for washi snowflakes:) Thanks for sharing! And now you are sharing supplies??? Sweet!

    Like

  9. What a beautiful page! The little ones today are going to have such a beautiful record of their experiences to look back on. Thank you for the opportunity to win the cute stamps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

