Echo Park Paper: Spring Tussie Mussies

Growing up my mom would tell me stories about how she and her friends would use wallpaper to make May Day cones each year to leave on the doorsteps or doorknobs of their neighborhood friends on May 1st. They would fill them with treats or little flowers they picked from their yards or the fields … just to brighten someone’s day. Doesn’t that sound like an absolutely charming, friendly thing to do?! Ever since hearing her stories, I have always wanted to make my own … but I’m thinking we shouldn’t have to wait until May 1st to spread a little sunshine … it could be something really fun to do ANY time this Spring!

Jana Eubank Spring Tussie Mussie Photo 1

I created my Spring Tussie Mussies using the Spring collection by Echo Park Paper and they are featured on the Echo Park Paper blog today. I selected the tone-on-tone patterns to create the base of the cone and then added more colorful patterned accent panels to the sides. It was so much fun picking and choosing the different paper combinations from the adorable Spring papers!
Jana Eubank Spring Tussie Mussie Photo 2
I wanted each cone to have it’s own personality and had fun picking and coordinating the Spring Ephemera and Spring Element Stickers to decorate each one.
For the green Tussie Mussie, I created a rosette for the front panel from the Sparkling Stripe patterned paper.
I decorated mine by adding Spring die cut ephemera, manually die cut flowers and leaves (using Echo Park metal dies), and decorative brads. The top of the box is finished off with a pink ribbon bow and ephemera tag.
Jana Eubank Spring Tussie Mussie Photo 3
The front of the yellow Tussie Mussie features a layered award ribbon shape inspired and created from the Echo Park Award Ribbon Silhouette shape. I added the hot air balloon ephemera die cut circle and a sticker sentiment to the front. The balloon looks like it is floating in the sky among the die cut clouds created with the Under the Weather die.
Jana Eubank Spring Tussie Mussie Photo 4
I matted an element sticker with the Echo Park Stamp Silhouette shape for the front panel of the pink Tussie Mussie. I tied a bit of twine around the block and then added die cut flowers (Spring Flowers Die) and leaves (Fall Branch Die Set) as accents. The top is finished with a die cut bow created from the blue word paper from the collection.
Jana Eubank Spring Tussie Mussie Photo 5
I can’t wait to surprise my kids with these fun springtime treats! I think I will hang them on their bedroom doorknobs to discover one of these mornings!!
Have a great week!
JanaBold
5 thoughts on “Echo Park Paper: Spring Tussie Mussies

  1. These are so sweet! Loving this collection and the darling way you used it. We used to pick flowers and leave them on doorsteps on May 1st when I was a kid. 🙂

    Like

  2. These are just darling! Your kids will love them! We also used to leave flowers on doorsteps on May 1st. I think maybe it was a Catholic tradition? I went to a Catholic school, and we also had to bring flowers that day to leave at the feet of the statute of Mary. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

