Noel Mignon: Sleeping Under the Stars

Have you seen the April 2016 Trailblazer kit by Noel Mignon? I have my first page with this kit up on the Noel Mignon blog today, and I will also be sharing it below. But first, if you’d like to take a tour through the kit, you can do so by watching my Unboxing Video HERE or below.

Each week on the Noel Mignon Blog the design team tackles a design challenge. This week we have been challenged to “Cut It Out,” either by creating a negative hole or shape in our project, or implementing some fussy-cutting.

SLEEPING UNDER THE STARS

I had these photos of my daughters sleeping out in the backyard in the family tent and thought it might be fun to create a night sky by cutting stars in the constellation paper.

JanaEubank_UnderTheStars1

I’m very familiar with my electronic die-cutting machines, but rather than spend 30 minutes figuring out the placement of my stars in relation to my photos on the screen, I decided to do it the good ol’ fashioned way … by hand with a star template.

JanaEubank_UnderTheStars2

After cutting out the stars with a pair of fine-tipped scissors, I placed the vintage map paper included with the kit behind the openings and then stitched around them with my sewing machine to give them a bit more definition. In retrospect, I wished I had used orange thread for a bit more colors, but I do like the way it turned out!

JanaEubank_UnderTheStars3

To the right of my photos, I added a strip of the brown cardstock included with the kit. I used my Cuttlebug machine and the Mojave Embossing Border to add some texture. At the top I placed the two feather brads from the My Mind’s Eye Happy Camper collection.

JanaEubank_UnderTheStars4

I love creating a long, large title with letter stickers! The fun burlap texture of this month’s Thickers are perfect with all of the outdoor-themed papers this month! I underlined the title with a strip of white cardstock with the heart rub-ons applied to them.

JanaEubank_UnderTheStars5

At the bottom of the page, I layered a strip of that DELICIOUS Teal Woodgrain washi tape from the kit over the orange patterned paper. I zig-zagged across the top of it and then placed a row of wood circles and flair badges from the kit. They are too cute!

My journaling is printed on kraft cardstock and placed to the right of the photo.

JanaEubank_UnderTheStars1

I hope you enjoyed seeing my take on the “Cut It Out” Design Challenge this week! And maybe now YOU feel inspired to cut a hole in your next project!

One last item … every six months the kit subscriptions at Noel Mignon are opened up … If you have been wanting to sign up for the Classic Kit or the Daily Diary kit, NOW is the time! You can find out more information HERE in the NoelMignon.com store.

12931263_10209232107338922_6866736748562483736_n

See you again soon!

JanaBold

2 thoughts on “Noel Mignon: Sleeping Under the Stars

Leave a Reply

