Two More Stashbusters

Happy Friday, crafty friends! I’m on a roll with the stashbusting around here and figured I would take advantage of the feeling while I have it … I have two more shares for you today.

CABIN GETAWAY

Last fall, I told you I was reorganizing my entire stash of products by theme and color families (Primary, Brights, Pastels, Muted) to see if it would help me to use up my existing stash … I gotta say … I’m REALLY liking it! It’s working for me! And it’s helping me to mix things together better.

I had these snapshots from a trip to my in-laws cabin laying around waiting to get in our book … I pulled down the group of Outdoor themed papers and embellishments and started to work.

JanaEubank_CabinGetaway1

I knew I wanted to use up that cute Martha Stewart Crafts owl, so I arranged my photos in a way that made sense with it … all of the small photos together across the top and then the owl embellishment pointing to our family photo below.

All the papers that I used are scraps (with the exception of the background cardstock). It’s rare that I turn to my scraps to start a page … I think I’m just “tired” of them after using them once or twice before, but I found new life in these pieces by combining them together.

JanaEubank_CabinGetaway2

I created the journal block with a stamp from my stash by stamping black ink on kraft cardstock. The stickers around it are from American Crafts and October Afternoon. The flair is from BasicGrey.

I used up some of my Thickers to create the title. To the left of the title is a few random chipboard stickers I had left from a K and Company sticker sheet. Below the title I stamped a phrase from a Technique Tuesday stamp set and the date.

JanaEubank_CabinGetaway3

More stamped bits surround the family photo … remember those date label stamps from Autumn Leaves? I rediscovered them and am loving the phrases across the top … I can see myself pulling those out again and layering them behind photos, etc. some more like I have done here.

JanaEubank_CabinGetaway4

The felt butterflies came with the owl sticker and look so cute here floating above his head. I had one more pine tree sticker from the K and Company sticker sheet and figured I might as well get it used up, so I added it to the bottom of the page with the “explore” sticker.

SUPPLIES: Cardstock (cream, dark brown, kraft), Patterned Paper (Pebbles, My Mind’s Eye, We R Memory Keepers, Echo Park Paper), Stickers (Martha Stewart Crafts, October Afternoon, K and Company, American Crafts), Letter Stickers (American Crafts), Stamps (Autumn Leaves, Technique Tuesday, Date Stamp: Sparco, Other: Unknown), Enamel Dots (Teresa Collins Designs), Flair (BasicGrey), Other: Brown distressing ink, Black Stamping Ink, Dark Brown Stamping Ink, Acrylic Block, Button, White twine, Foam Dots, Adhesive, Trimmer, Scissors, Black journaling pen

.

AT THE PARK

This page uses up some Die Cuts with a View “Woodland” papers I purchased YEARS ago at Michael’s. The woodgrain was perfect with the photo of my daughter playing on this tree house-looking playground.

JanaEubank_AtThePark1

It’s kind of weird, but I had this strange “ashamed” feeling of using the big box DCWV papers on this page. It’s so stupid! I mean, I still like these papers … so why should I feel “ashamed” of using them. I guess they wouldn’t be considered a “designer” brand … I’m trying to get over that … and just use up what I have and still love. Do you ever get that feeling?! It’s silly, isn’t it!

JanaEubank_AtThePark2

I REALLY wanted to use some green circular letters I had by Bella Blvd. in my stash … but unfortunately the letters I needed had already been used. I decided to pull out my circle punches and recreate the look of the letters on my own. I used old BasicGrey chip letters. I had actually run out of the letter “h” … so had to create one by piecing together the letters “l” and “u.” It works, right?!

JanaEubank_AtThePark3

The die cut clouds are from the Echo Park “Under the Weather” die set and the butterflies were created with a Martha Stewart Crafts punch.

JanaEubank_AtThePark4

To embellish the bottom corner of the page, I hand-cut a few of the flowers from the DCWV floral paper. I popped them up with foam squares and added some Doodlebug buttons tied with twine to give them a bit more dimension.

SUPPLIES: Cardstock (green, dark teal), Patterned Paper (DCWV, October Afternoon, Jillibean Soup, Green Solid Scrap by My Mind’s Eye), Label Stickers/Label Die Cut (October Afternoon), Chipboard Letters (BasicGrey, American Crafts), Punches (Butterflies by Martha Stewart Crafts, Tab by Jenni Bowlin), Cloud dies (Echo Park Paper), Cuttlebug Machine, Cuttlebug Swiss Dots Embossing Folder, Pinking Shears, Gems (Darice), Buttons (Doodlebug Design), Phrase sticker (Bella Blvd.), Other: Black Journaling Pen, White twine, Trimmer, Scissors, Adhesive, Foam dots

Thanks for coming by! Enjoy your weekend!

JanaBold

 

 

3 thoughts on “Two More Stashbusters

  1. Both layouts are beautiful. I would have never known the papers were from DCWV until you mentioned it. I still have bunches of paper stacks that I bought when I was first scrapping. I will be using them in an effort to “use it up”.

    Like

  2. I still have that DCWV stack. I fell in love with it when it first came out and have used it a few times but it has been a long time since it has been pulled out, thank you for sharing because you have breathed some new inspiration into that line for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

