Noel Mignon: Selfie Stick

Hi Friends! This week on the Noel Mignon blog the design team is working with April’s Trailblazer kit and the “Line It Up” challenge. For this challenge, we were to do something fun with our journaling lines. I love using my sewing machine on my pages and thought it might be fun to create stitched lines to write on.

SELFIE STICK

My daughter asked for a selfie stick as one of her presents for her last birthday … so of course we have lots of silly photos trying the thing out. 😀 I printed the photos off into two filmstrip-type rows to add them to my page. I tied a bit of kraft colored twine around them for some added texture.

JanaEubank_Selfie1

For the title, I used this shape by Echo Park Paper found in the Silhouette Design Store. I placed it above my stitched journaling lines and then added a few stamped phrases around it using the Studio Calico/Seven Paper roller stamp included with the Trailblazer kit. The silly sayings were a perfect match for our silly photos!

JanaEubank_Selfie2

I adore the two bright yellow Maya Road tulle flowers that were also included in the kit. To give them a bit more presence against the layered strips below them, I cut out cardstock flower layers to go beneath them. The leaves were also die cut using my Silhouette Cameo (flower shape from Lettering Delights, Leaves from SVGCuts.com).

Below the flowers I placed a few fussy-cut cameras from the Shimelle Starshine “Pathfinder” paper. On top of the flowers I placed one of the cutie-patootie resin birds included with this month’s kit. Doesn’t he look happy there enjoying the view?! 😀

JanaEubank_Selfie3

SUPPLIES: Noel Mignon April 2016 “Trailblazer” kit, Cardstock (My Mind’s Eye Ecru and Goldenrod, red and navy scraps from my stash), Patterned Paper (October Afternoon Treasure Map, American Crafts Shimelle Starshine, Jillibean Soup Mushroom Medley, Green solid scrap from my stash), Sewing Machine and Navy thread, Silhouette Cameo Machine, Stamp (Studio Calico/Seven Paper), Letter Stickers (October Afternoon Treasure Map), Brad (My Mind’s Eye), Flowers/Resin Bird/Navy Ribbon (Maya Road), Woodgrain Washi Tape (Queen and Company), Twine (Karen Foster), Other: Gray distressing ink, Adhesives, Foam Dots, Trimmer, Scissors, Black Journaling Pen, Navy Ink

Thanks for popping by today! I had fun sharing my project with you. Stitching the journaling lines was a lot of fun … I definitely will be doing this again on another project!

JanaBold

 

5 thoughts on “Noel Mignon: Selfie Stick

Leave a Reply

