Noel Mignon: Sidewalk Chalk

It’s been a L-O-N-G time since I have attempted any kind of messy technique in my scrapbooking. Oh, sure … I’ll add the occasional spritz of mist, or stamp something in a safe way on a journal block or scrap of paper, but I’m not like you amazing mixed-media gals who go all crazy with paints on my pages. I love and admire the look, but don’t like the unpredictable nature of such techniques.

Back in the day, I used to have fun incorporating different techniques into my work … I loved the challenge! But nowadays, I tend to stick with techniques and design that is comfortable to me. I think this is part of my style now. 🙂 Or maybe it’s just a sign of my old age. Ha!

So with all that said, please be kind about my page today! Ha! The Noel Mignon design team received Distress Crayons in this month’s Summer Lovin’ Classic Kit, and this week’s design challenge was to incorporate a watercolor technique onto our page.

I was so nervous! But did it anyway. Here are the results!

IMG_5201

I decided to try my hand at creating a scribbly-looking, watercolor background to go with some pictures I had of my kids and their cousins with their sidewalk chalk art. I randomly scribbled the crayons on a white cardstock background, and then added splatters in pink distress crayon, white mist, and gold mist. After letting it dry and stressing about how I was going to make this work, I was ready to start adding pictures and embellishments.

Gulp! Here goes nothing! …

SIDEWALK CHALK

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_SidewalkChalk1noel

I used pops of yellow to draw your eye around the page and add a summer-y feel.

I anchored each photo with aqua patterned branding strips to tie things together.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_SidewalkChalk2

I was going to try my hand at “thread nests” since a lot of designers seem to do that with watercolor pages, but it just didn’t feel like “me.” So I die cut some white swirls using my Cameo instead.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_SidewalkChalk3

I then sprinkled in a few brads. I liked the way the silver rims of the brads added a bit of shine to the page. I decided to add a little MORE shimmer by punching out the little arrow/chevron pieces from silver glitter paper.

JanaEubank_NoelMignon_SidewalkChalk4

This page was really different for me. Maybe too different … but I did like pushing myself creatively. I may just try this again sometime!

SUPPLIES: Noel Mignon July 2016 “Summer Lovin'” kit, Cardstock (white), Silver glitter paper, Branding strips from Patterned Paper (Simple Stories, Imaginisce), Distress Crayons (Ranger), Chipboard/Brads (Echo Park Paper), Wood Embellishments (Freckled Fawn), Cut Aparts (Elle’s Studio), Alpha Stickers (Amy Tangerine by American Crafts), Silhouette Cameo Die Cut Machine, Swirl Die Cut Image, Punch (Studio Calico), Gray pen, Computer journaling, Paint Brush/Water, Adhesive, Trimmer, Scissors

So are you like me? Does paint, mist, and anything unpredictable make you nervous to incorporate on your projects?

Thanks for coming by!

JanaBold

3 thoughts on “Noel Mignon: Sidewalk Chalk

  1. I think you did an awesome creation and you inspired me to go for it and give this (what looked easier enough for me) technique an attempt myself. I’m with you about trying this kind of thing on my scrapbook pages……but here goes.

    Like

  2. This is beautiful! I am a very “neat” scrapper, but this has inspired me to get a bit messy. Thanks for showing me how to let go a little! I definitely plan to try this.

    Like

  3. Your results are beautiful! I just started using watercolors on my layouts. I wasn’t thrilled with the results at first, however I purchased a 12 x 12 watercolor paper pad at ACMoore and now I’m on board with the trend. You might want to try painting on printed scrapbook pages. I find it more relaxing than coloring them with colored pencils. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

