Stashbuster: U of U

As much as I love to shop for the lastest-and-greatest scrapbook supplies, I also really LOVE to use up the things I already have in my stash. I frequently go through my things and pass along things that I am tired of or that I have leftovers of, but there are a lot of “older” things that I still really LOVE … and want to use someday.

I love to scrap with collections, but I also really love to add new life to older patterns and supplies by combining them in new ways. An easy way to do this is to select a color scheme and then pull together items in those colors.

U OF U ALMA MATER

My husband and a co-worker both attended the University of Utah and had the opportunity to go and be a part of the football game on Halloween last year. Someone snapped this cute snapshot of the two of them and I wanted to add it to our family scrapbook.

I pulled out the plaid paper (My Mind’s Eye) first, because it incorporated the blue and red from the photo. That was my starting point for pulling in everything else.

jana-eubank-uofu-1

The background paper is a sheet from the Echo Park Paper Little Boy collection. The ledger pattern works perfectly here because of the university theme.

The other patterns that I pulled in were the navy chevron (Pebbles Inc.) and the red graphic pattern (Bella Blvd.). I chose kraft and cork as accent colors because it reminded me of a football.

jana-eubank-uofu-2

I used my Cricut and cricut cartridges to cut the title. The Us are from the Varsity Letter cartridge, and the “of” was created using the lower case script letters from the Opposites Attract cartridge. I spelled out “Alma Mater” using October Afternoon letter stickers.

jana-eubank-uofu-3

That cute football was cut using my Silhouette Cameo machine and a football shape by Echo Park Paper found in the Silhouette online store. The cork stars are by Ali Edwards and the brads are various ones I’ve collected over the years from My Mind’s Eye … the glitter brads are by Darice, *I think.*

I added some punched glitter paper silver stars below the large cork stars to give them a bit more presence.

jana-eubank-uofu-4

Have you ever scrapped a page using a color scheme instead of a collection?! It was a lot of fun and a great way to use up the paper scraps floating around in my scrap bin.

JanaBold

JanaEubankYouTubeIcon_50   JanaEubankIconFacebook_50   JanaEubankIconInstagram_50   JanaEubankIconPinterest_50

Leave a Reply

