Queen & Company: “Make a Wish” Layout with the June Kit

The Queen & Company June Kit is is now available and today I am up on the Queen & Company blog sharing my first project created with it. I have so many birthday layouts to catch up, so this kit was perfect for me!
MAKE A WISH
Jana Eubank Queen and Company Make a Wish Layout 1 600
I began this page by using my Silhouette Cameo 3 electronic cutting machine to cut the circular background shape (Assorted Lace Circle by Jamie Koay Design #45588 from the Silhouette Design Store). I used the adorable papers from the Pretty Presents 6×6 paper pad included with the kit to back each of the openings in the shape. For added texture and definition, I pulled out my sewing machine and added stitching in between each section of paper along the diamond pattern of the circle. It looks awesome!
Jana Eubank Queen and Company Make a Wish Layout 3 600
I then used my machine to cut the “Star Swag Banners” by Sarah Hurley (Design #52883 in the Silhouette Design Store) to add a fun party-feel to the top of the page. I love the subtle look of the white on the light blue background paper! They have a very sweet feel about them!
The swag banners were each one long curved piece … I simply used my scissors to cut them apart and adhere the pieces in a way that looked best for my page design.
Jana Eubank Queen and Company Make a Wish Layout 2 600
I used my Cameo again to create the title. The letters were cut in different patterns from the 6×6 paper pad to coordinate with the multi-colored circle background. I love all the color! The title shape I used is was the “Make A Wish” by Echo Park Paper (Design #136637 in the Silhouette Design Store). I added an offset border of white cardstock around the “wish” letters and then enlarged the “Make A” portion of the phrase to fit across the top.
Jana Eubank Queen and Company Make a Wish Layout 4 600
Of course I had to create a trio of birthday presents to accent my photo. Two of them are shakers and the one in the background is flat. I die cut the shapes multiple times from different colors of cardstock and patterned paper so that I could piece them together and create a multi-colored die cut.
To the right of the birthday presents, I used a stamp from the kit with bright blue ink to create another accent piece. (Stamped greetings can definitely be used for more than cards!)
Jana Eubank Queen and Company Make a Wish Layout 5 600
I used the same paper pad from the June Kit to build up several layers behind my photo, offsetting each layer a little bit from the previous one. To visually anchor the circular design to the page, I cut the 6×6 papers into two strips. I adhered them next to one another hiding the seam behind the circle so that it appears to be one long paper strip.
SUPPLIES:
Cardstock: white, green, blue, yellow
Sizzix Big Shot Manual Die Cutting Machine
Silhouette Cameo 3 Electronic Die Cutting Machine
Sewing Machine/White Thread
Computer/Printer for Journaling
Paper Trimmer/Scissors
I hope you enjoyed this birthday page today! The colorful papers in the June Kit are so much fun to work with, and I love the unique accents I was able to create with the shaker present dies! Too cute!
Thanks for coming by!

JanaBold

JanaEubankYouTubeIcon_50   JanaEubankIconFacebook_50   JanaEubankIconInstagram_50   

One thought on “Queen & Company: “Make a Wish” Layout with the June Kit

Leave a Reply

