Mother’s Day Frame

I’m back to share a Mother’s Day project with you that I did for the My Mind’s Eye Blog. Every year I try and make my mom some kind of project that includes her nine grandchildren. This year I decided to alter a Collage Frame for her scrapbook room. I found this frame at my local craft store that features seven 4 x 6 openings. I decided to place a sentiment in the center opening and then feature the grandkids in the remaining spaces.

I chose the new Lime Twist “Happy Go Lucky” collection because my mom recently painted her scrapbook room a beautiful shade of dusty purple and I know these papers are going to look AWESOME with it! Gotta love the baker’s twine that goes along with the Lime Twist collection! I have a feeling I’m going to be “collecting” quite a few packages of that twine in all of the delicious colors My Mind’s Eye has to offer. The buttons are from the Fuchsia and Turquoise Lush 2 collections and match these papers perfectly!

I used my Cricut Expression Machine to create the sentiment in the center of the phrame. The lettering is from the Boys Will Be Boys cartridge (this is a font I reach for a lot!) and the heart is from the Doodletype cartridge. LOVE my Cricut!!!!

While designing, I treated each square as it’s own mini layout or card. Even though each square is different, using the same papers and embellishments throughout ties everything together. This actually came together fairly quickly . . . no longer than scrapbooking a page layout . . . and I think my mom is going to love it. Heck! She might even get weepy at seeing all of her grandkids smiling at her from one collage. 🙂

Have a great weekend! Happy National Scrapbooking Day and Happy Mother’s Day!

Jana

5 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Frame

  1. This is so inspirational. I have a new baby girl as well as a new Cricut Expression machine – my mind is now filled with ideas for creating keepsakes as she grows older. Thanks so much!

    Like

Leave a comment