Echo Park Paper: Shine Layout

It’s been awhile since I have used my sewing machine on a layout, but I couldn’t help but add lots of zig zag stitching in between the patterns of the large heart of the Follow Your Heart paper from Echo Park Paper’s Just Be You Collection. I loved it so much I used it as the main design element on this page about my daughter.
jana-eubank-just-be-you-layout-photo-1-600
Stitching is a great way to add lots of dimension to your page without a lot of work … and the printed patterns on this heart take all the work out piecing together a heart yourself!
jana-eubank-just-be-you-layout-photo-2-600
I used all three sheets of the Just Be You Solids Paper Pack on this page, too. It’s important to intersperse solid papers around your page when you are using a lot of different patterns on a project like I have done here. It will give your eye a place to rest as it takes in each element on your layout.
jana-eubank-just-be-you-layout-photo-3-600
I nestled two tags and my title in the corner on top of the pre-printed florals of the Be Bold striped background paper. Lifting the title and butterfly stickers up on to foam squares gives the page even more interest.
jana-eubank-just-be-you-layout-photo-4-600
I could have used the lines on the background paper as a guide to write my journaling, but this time, I opted to use typed journaling strips for a cleaner look. Journaling strips are another great way to keep your design cohesive when using lots of pattern on a page.
jana-eubank-just-be-you-layout-photo-5-600
The result is a cheerful page documenting the sparkling personality of my daughter!
jana-eubank-just-be-you-layout-photo-6-600

SUPPLIES:

White Crochet Twine
Sewing Machine & White Thread
Foam Squares & Adhesives
Trimmer & Scissors
Distressing Tool
Computer & Printer for Journaling Strips
White Cardstock

JanaBold

JanaEubankYouTubeIcon_50   JanaEubankIconFacebook_50   JanaEubankIconInstagram_50   JanaEubankIconPinterest_50

2 thoughts on “Echo Park Paper: Shine Layout

  1. I’m visiting Texas right now and have to have that cactus paper. *swoon* Great layout Jana. I love to sew on my layouts. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness! That way you stitched that heart to look like it was actually pieced together is amazing. You completely had me fooled. LOVE it!

    Like

Leave a comment